The Coroner by Jennifer Graeser Dornbush audiobook

The Coroner

By Jennifer Graeser Dornbush
Read by Sophie Amoss

Blackstone Publishing 9781683316237

The Coroner's Daughter Mysteries: Book 1

9.23 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781982539641

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781982539658

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781982539627

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781982539634

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Summoned from her promising surgical career first to her estranged father’s bedside and then to his post as medical examiner when his small town needs urgent help with a suspicious death, Emily Hartford discovers home is where the bodies are in this pitch-perfect mystery debut. Recently engaged and deeply ensconced in her third year of surgical residency in Chicago, Emily Hartford gets a shock when she is called home to Freeport, Michigan, the small town she fled a decade ago after the death of her mother. Her estranged father, the local medical examiner, has had a massive heart attack, and Emily is needed urgently to help with his recovery. Not sure what to expect, Emily races home, blowing the only stoplight at the center of town and getting pulled over by her former high school love, now sheriff, Nick Larson. At the hospital, she finds her father in near total denial of the seriousness of his condition. He insists that the best thing Emily can do to help him is to take on the autopsy of a senator’s teen daughter whose sudden, unexplained death has just rocked the sleepy town. Reluctantly agreeing to help her father and Nick, Emily gets down to work, only to discover that the girl was murdered. The autopsy reminds her of her many hours in the morgue with her father when she was a young teen―a time which inspired her love of medicine. Before she knows it, she is pulled deeper into the case and closer to her father and to Nick―much to the dismay of her big-city fiancé. When a threat is made to Emily herself, she must race to catch the killer before he strikes again. The Coroner, expertly written and sharply plotted, is perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Julia Spencer Fleming.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A #1 Amazon.com bestseller in British Detectives

An Audible.com bestseller in Fiction

An Audible Pick of This Month's Top 5 Audiobooks

Summoned from her promising surgical career first to her estranged father’s bedside and then to his post as medical examiner when his small town needs urgent help with a suspicious death, Emily Hartford discovers home is where the bodies are in this pitch-perfect mystery debut.

Recently engaged and deeply ensconced in her third year of surgical residency in Chicago, Emily Hartford gets a shock when she is called home to Freeport, Michigan, the small town she fled a decade ago after the death of her mother. Her estranged father, the local medical examiner, has had a massive heart attack, and Emily is needed urgently to help with his recovery.

Not sure what to expect, Emily races home, blowing the only stoplight at the center of town and getting pulled over by her former high school love, now sheriff, Nick Larson. At the hospital, she finds her father in near total denial of the seriousness of his condition. He insists that the best thing Emily can do to help him is to take on the autopsy of a senator’s teen daughter whose sudden, unexplained death has just rocked the sleepy town.

Reluctantly agreeing to help her father and Nick, Emily gets down to work, only to discover that the girl was murdered. The autopsy reminds her of her many hours in the morgue with her father when she was a young teen―a time which inspired her love of medicine. Before she knows it, she is pulled deeper into the case and closer to her father and to Nick―much to the dismay of her big-city fiancé.

When a threat is made to Emily herself, she must race to catch the killer before he strikes again.

The Coroner, expertly written and sharply plotted, is perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Julia Spencer Fleming.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Authentic forensic details testify to the author’s knowledge of the subject as the daughter of a medical examiner…An intense, riveting mystery that combines the coziness of small-town familiarity with the sobering reality of drugs and murder.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Emily is strong and competent, vulnerable and kind…Add a twisty plot, romance, and family drama and the result is this satisfying first-in-a-series mystery.” Dawn Eastman, author of Unnatural Causes
“If you like small town mysteries, twisty reads, or books by Lisa Black or Patricia Cornwell, you’ll love The Coroner.” Karen Harper, author of American Duchess
“Fast-paced and riveting, The Coronor by Jennifer Dornbush is filled with surprises, authentic detail, and memorable characters. Well done!” Carla Neggers, author of Imposter’s Lure

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jennifer Graeser Dornbush

Author Bio: Jennifer Graeser Dornbush

Jennifer Graeser Dornbush is the daughter of a medical examiner, who has had decades of on-site experience in death investigation and 360 hours of forensic training through the Forensic Science Academy. She uses these experiences to pen crime fiction for film and television. A member of Sisters in Crime, she hosts webinars on crime writing through Writer’s Digest.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.23
Audience: Adult
Language: English