The Chairman’s Toys by Graham Reed audiobook

The Chairman’s Toys

By Graham Reed
A Poisoned Pen Press  mystery
Read by Chris Andrew Ciulla

Blackstone Publishing 9781464210068
6.71 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $7.98

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781982542184

  • Regular Price: $6.95

    Special Price $1.74

    ISBN: 9781982542191

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $17.48

    ISBN: 9781982542160

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $14.98

    ISBN: 9781982542177

Vancouver, British Columbia—land of psychotically expensive real estate, high-grade cannabis, and Jake Constable. A man adrift. After Jake quits the drug business, his realtor/ex-wife, Nina, gets him a job as a housesitter for her wealthy clients. Jake celebrates by throwing a party in the mansion he was hired to look after. Unfortunately, the guest list gets out of hand, leaving Jake to contend with a hallucinogenic-vitamin-dispensing yogi, a dead guy in the bathroom, and the Norwegian—a criminal force of nature with a grudge against Jake. When the owner of the multimillion-dollar crime scene returns home prematurely, only Jake’s inadvertent discovery of the man’s business history in Mao Tse Thong underwear saves him from having to clean up after the party. But he still has to come clean with his ex-wife. The situation threatens to become an international incident when Nina’s powerbroker uncle and two secret agents from China show up to turn the screws on Jake. Soon after that his friends start disappearing. With the Chinese government leaning on him and the Norwegian out to settle an old score, Jake comes up with a desperate plan to dupe a pair of secret agents, fund the uncle’s secret venture, save his friends, and (why not?) solve the murder.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Vancouver, British Columbia—land of psychotically expensive real estate, high-grade cannabis, and Jake Constable. A man adrift.

After Jake quits the drug business, his realtor/ex-wife, Nina, gets him a job as a housesitter for her wealthy clients. Jake celebrates by throwing a party in the mansion he was hired to look after. Unfortunately, the guest list gets out of hand, leaving Jake to contend with a hallucinogenic-vitamin-dispensing yogi, a dead guy in the bathroom, and the Norwegian—a criminal force of nature with a grudge against Jake.

When the owner of the multimillion-dollar crime scene returns home prematurely, only Jake’s inadvertent discovery of the man’s business history in Mao Tse Thong underwear saves him from having to clean up after the party. But he still has to come clean with his ex-wife. The situation threatens to become an international incident when Nina’s powerbroker uncle and two secret agents from China show up to turn the screws on Jake. Soon after that his friends start disappearing. With the Chinese government leaning on him and the Norwegian out to settle an old score, Jake comes up with a desperate plan to dupe a pair of secret agents, fund the uncle’s secret venture, save his friends, and (why not?) solve the murder.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Takes the reader on a fast, furious, and often hilarious tour. Watching [Jake] zigzag through the twisting plot is pure pleasure.” Publishers Weekly
“Constable is a likable loser, tight with his friends and still flirting with his ex-wife, and he definitely belongs on your short list of amiable stoner sleuths, along with Bart Schneider’s Augie Boyer and Hal Ackerman’s Harry Stein. The dark-comedy aspect of this debut will also appeal to fans of Chris Knopf, David Freed, and Tim Cockey.” Booklist
“Reed’s lively mystery debut…Too much of a good thing is still a good thing.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Graham Reed

Author Bio: Graham Reed

Graham Reed is an award-winning author of crime fiction. He lives on a small island in the Salish Sea with his wife and two children.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 6.71
Audience: Adult
Language: English