Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand audiobook

Sawkill Girls

By Claire Legrand
Read by Lauren Ezzo

Katherine Tegen Books, HarperCollins 9780062696601
12.97 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $29.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062855916

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982554439

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982554446

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

“Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power.” —Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth “An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength.” —Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species FIVE STARRED REVIEWS NAMED ONE OF YALSA’S 2019 BEST FICTION FOR YOUNG ADULTS A BRAM STOKER AWARD NOMINEE From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is. Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies. Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

“Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power.” —Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth

“An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength.” —Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

FIVE STARRED REVIEWS

NAMED ONE OF YALSA’S 2019 BEST FICTION FOR YOUNG ADULTS

A BRAM STOKER AWARD NOMINEE

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.

Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Sure to win Legrand plenty of new fans, this tale, which includes an asexual character and a beautifully wrought queer romance, focuses on the power of female friendship and what it means to pit women against one another in fiction and in life.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Legrand’s lush and pensive prose matches the murky, dangerous, and beautiful island setting…Rich and earthy horror.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Through this dank, atmospheric, and genuinely frightening narrative, Legrand weaves powerful threads about the dangerous journey of growing up female. In a world where monsters linger at the edges, this is an intensely character-driven story about girls who support each other, girls who betray each other, and girls who love each other in many complicated ways. Strange, eerie, and unforgettable.” Booklist (starred reviews)
“Readers will enjoy the fast-paced narrative and creepy feel of this book, part spine-chilling horror story and part coming-of-age lesbian romance…If you are looking for something to scare you awake at night, this is the book for you.” Kirkus Reviews
“A wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power.” Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth
“An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength.” Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Claire Legrand

Author Bio: Claire Legrand

Claire Legrand’s first novel was The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, a New York Public Library Best Book for Children in 2012. She is also the author of The Year of Shadows and Winterspell, a young adult retelling of The Nutcracker. She is one of the four authors behind The Cabinet of Curiosities anthology, a Junior Library Guild selection and a NYPL Best Book for Children in 2014.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 12.97
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English