The Last Romantics: A Novel

By Tara Conklin
Read by Cassandra Campbell

12.24 Hours 02/05/2019 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $26.99

    Special Price $21.59

    or 1 Credit
    Available on 02/05/2019

    ISBN: 9780062898166

  • $39.99
    Available on 02/05/2019

    ISBN: 9781982608507

  • $39.99
    Available on 02/05/2019

    ISBN: 9781982608514

From the New York Times–bestselling author of The House Girl comes a novel about our most precious and dangerous attachment: family. In the spring of 1981, the young Skinner siblings—fierce Renee, dreamy Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona—lose their father to a heart attack and their mother to a paralyzing depression, events that thrust them into a period they will later call “the Pause.” Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the siblings navigate the dangers and resentments of the Pause to emerge fiercely loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the Skinners find themselves again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they’ve made and what, exactly, they will do for love. Narrated nearly a century later by the youngest sibling, the renowned poet Fiona Skinner, The Last Romantics spans a lifetime. It’s a story of sex and affection, sacrifice and selfishness, deeply held principles and dashed expectations, a lost engagement ring, a squandered baseball scholarship, unsupervised summers at the neighbourhood pond and an iconic book of love poems. But most of all it is the story of Renee, Caroline, Joe and Fiona: the ways they support each other, the ways they betray each other and the ways they knit back together bonds they have fractured. In the vein of Commonwealth, Little Fires Everywhere and The Nest, this is a panoramic, tenderly insightful novel about one devoted, imperfect family. The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the responsibilities we bear both gracefully and unwillingly, and the all-important, ever-complex definition of love.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A February 2019 LibraryReads Pick

From the New York Times–bestselling author of The House Girl comes a novel about our most precious and dangerous attachment: family.

In the spring of 1981, the young Skinner siblings—fierce Renee, dreamy Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona—lose their father to a heart attack and their mother to a paralyzing depression, events that thrust them into a period they will later call “the Pause.” Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the siblings navigate the dangers and resentments of the Pause to emerge fiercely loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the Skinners find themselves again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they’ve made and what, exactly, they will do for love.

Narrated nearly a century later by the youngest sibling, the renowned poet Fiona Skinner, The Last Romantics spans a lifetime. It’s a story of sex and affection, sacrifice and selfishness, deeply held principles and dashed expectations, a lost engagement ring, a squandered baseball scholarship, unsupervised summers at the neighbourhood pond and an iconic book of love poems. But most of all it is the story of Renee, Caroline, Joe and Fiona: the ways they support each other, the ways they betray each other and the ways they knit back together bonds they have fractured.

In the vein of Commonwealth, Little Fires Everywhere and The Nest, this is a panoramic, tenderly insightful novel about one devoted, imperfect family. The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the responsibilities we bear both gracefully and unwillingly, and the all-important, ever-complex definition of love.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Despite spanning almost a century, The Last Romantics never feels rushed. Conklin places readers in the center of the Skinner family, moving back and forth in time and allowing waves of emotion to slowly uncurl. Perfectly paced, affecting fiction.” Booklist
“Conklin’s plot avoids the predictable, and adds a new mystery each time an old one is solved, resulting in a clever novel.” Publishers Weekly
The Last Romantics is a richly observed novel, both ambitious and welcoming.” Meg Wolitzer, Pulitzer Prize–winning author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tara Conklin

Tara Conklin is a writer and lawyer currently living with her family in Seattle. Most recently she worked as a litigator in the New York and London offices of a corporate law firm but now devotes herself to writing fiction. She holds a BA in history from Yale, a JD from New York University School of Law, and a Master of Law and Diplomacy from the Fletcher School (Tufts University). Prior to law school, she held a variety of jobs in a variety of locales, including dealing cards at a casino in Costa Rica, planning events at a press center in Moscow, teaching English at a school in Madrid, and waiting tables at a hotel in Montana. Her short fiction has appeared in the Bristol Prize Anthology and Pangea: An Anthology of Stories from Around the Globe.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 12.24
Audience: Adult
Language: English