We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia audiobook

We Set the Dark on Fire

By Tehlor Kay Mejia
Read by Kyla Garcia

Katherine Tegen Books, HarperCollins 9780062691316
9.90 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062907943

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982610630

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982610647

“We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers.” —NPR.org “Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality.” —Buzzfeed Five starred reviews!! In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival. At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class. Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society. And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio. Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers.” —NPR.org

“Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality.” —Buzzfeed

Five starred reviews!!

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A vivid tale of political intrigue, power, and resistance that will thrill the hearts of readers.” Traci Chee, New York Times bestselling author
“With lots of action and palace intrigue, the novel is a page turner.” New York Journal of Books
We Set the Dark on Fire is dystopian YA as you’ve only dreamed it could be. Mejia’s story is specific yet universal, intricate and vast; it’s fire and smoke and the phoenix rising from the ashes.” Tor.com
“Kyla Garcia delivers a thrilling Latinx-themed fantasy…Garcia gives Dani an appropriately crisp and matter-of-fact voice, while Carmen, Dani’s sister wife, has a softer and more sensual tone. Garcia’s take on their husband, an ambitious and ruthless politician, is perfectly smug. As Dani becomes embroiled in a secret plot to spy on her new husband, Garcia’s narration evokes the breathless danger of covert and deadly missions. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“A complicated tale of love, intrigue, moral compromise, and action, with a prescient sensibility that echoes current headlines and political issues…This fierce, feminist novel throws memorable characters into a provocative set of circumstances, and the constant twists will leave readers yearning for the conclusion.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“A richly constructed world full of fantasy and diversity, with a mystery that will keep [listeners] guessing until the very end. A must-have fantasy filled with action and political intrigue.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“A masterfully constructed novel…This timely examination of how women move through the world is potent and precise, and readers will be eager for the sequel.” Booklist (starred review)
“An action-packed third-person narrative, smart dialogue, and lush descriptions offer readers a fresh and steely heroine in a contemporary coming-of-age story. This well-crafted fantasy offers a mirror that reflects themes in our own difficult world, namely privilege, immigration, and individualism versus the common good…Thrilling and timely.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tehlor Kay Mejia

Author Bio: Tehlor Kay Mejia

Tehlor Kay Mejia is an author and Oregon native in love with the alpine meadows and evergreen forests of her home state, where she lives with her daughter. We Set the Dark on Fire is her first novel. You can follow her on Twitter @tehlorkay.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 9.90
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English