Freefall by Jessica Barry audiobook

Freefall: A Novel

By Jessica Barry
Read by Hillary Huber , MacLeod Andrews , and Karissa Vacker

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062874832
12.05 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $6.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062890429

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982607845

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982607852

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2019:  Entertainment Weekly | USA Today | Parade | Cosmopolitan | New York Post | PopSugar | Goodreads “Exhilarating, emotional -- a thriller charged with genuine depth and raw power.” — A.J. Finn author of the #1 bestselling The Woman in the Window "An absorbing treat." — PEOPLE Magazine “The corporate malfeasance and shady conspiracies of John Grisham, with the frank feminism of two rounded female protagonists.”    — Entertainment Weekly They say your daughter is dead. You know they’re wrong. When her fiancé’s private plane crashes in the Colorado Rockies, everyone assumes Allison Carpenter is dead. But Maggie, Allison’s mother back home in Owl Creek, Maine, refuses to believe them. Maggie knows her daughter – or she used to, anyway. For the past two years, the two women have been estranged, and while Maggie doesn’t know anything about Ally’s life now – not even why she was on a private plane to begin with – she still believes in her girl’s strength, and in their love for each other. As Allison struggles across the treacherous mountain wilderness, Maggie embarks on a desperate search for answers about the world Allison has been involved in. What was she running from? And can Maggie uncover the truth in time to save her? Told from the perspectives of a mother and daughter separated by distance but united by an unbreakable bond, Freefall is a heart-stopping, propulsive thriller about two tenacious women overcoming unimaginable obstacles to protect themselves and the ones they love.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An Amazon Best Book of the Month selection

An Indie Next List selection

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2019:  Entertainment Weekly | USA Today | Parade | Cosmopolitan | New York Post | PopSugar | Goodreads

“Exhilarating, emotional -- a thriller charged with genuine depth and raw power.” — A.J. Finn author of the #1 bestselling The Woman in the Window

"An absorbing treat."PEOPLE Magazine

“The corporate malfeasance and shady conspiracies of John Grisham, with the frank feminism of two rounded female protagonists.”
   — Entertainment Weekly

They say your daughter is dead.
You know they’re wrong.

When her fiancé’s private plane crashes in the Colorado Rockies, everyone assumes Allison Carpenter is dead.

But Maggie, Allison’s mother back home in Owl Creek, Maine, refuses to believe them. Maggie knows her daughter – or she used to, anyway. For the past two years, the two women have been estranged, and while Maggie doesn’t know anything about Ally’s life now – not even why she was on a private plane to begin with – she still believes in her girl’s strength, and in their love for each other.

As Allison struggles across the treacherous mountain wilderness, Maggie embarks on a desperate search for answers about the world Allison has been involved in. What was she running from? And can Maggie uncover the truth in time to save her?

Told from the perspectives of a mother and daughter separated by distance but united by an unbreakable bond, Freefall is a heart-stopping, propulsive thriller about two tenacious women overcoming unimaginable obstacles to protect themselves and the ones they love.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An enthralling, impossible-to-put down mystery that keeps the pages flying.” Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author
“Hold on to your hats. Freefall is sure to take one on the ride of a lifetime…This is a gut-wrenching suspense thriller.” New York Journal of Books
Freefall puzzles together both women’s secrets and their complicated love for each other as it gains speed toward its climax. An excellent debut.” Mystery Scene Magazine
“Pacing is fast, and Allison is resourceful without turning into a superhero in this riveting thriller.” Shelf Awareness
“Karissa Vacker, as Allison, commands our attention from her first words…Enter narrator MacLeod Andrews, menacing and devious as The Man. As Allison’s estranged mother, Maggie, Hillary Huber is also completely convincing and compelling…Author Barry and all three narrators keep listeners spellbound. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“This psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Claire Mackintosh.” Publishers Weekly
“Pseudonymous author Barry spins a great tale using familiar tropes but adding a surprising amount of heart to the mystery showing the fierce bond between mother and daughter.” Library Journal
“Barry’s debut novel will keep readers guessing to the end, and fans of Lisa Jackson and Lisa Scottoline will enjoy this thriller written with a focus on family relationships.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jessica Barry

Author Bio: Jessica Barry

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 12.05
Audience: Adult
Language: English