White Elephant by Julie Langsdorf audiobook

White Elephant: A Novel

By Julie Langsdorf
Read by Allyson Ryan

9.89 Hours 03/26/2019 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062898241

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982610814

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982610821

A turf war between neighbors leads to a small-town crisis in this hilarious, addictive, and sharply observant debut novel. The White Elephant looms large over the quaint suburban town of Willard Park: a gaudy, newly constructed behemoth of a home, it soars over the neighborhood, dwarfing the houses that surround it. When owner Nick Cox cuts down Allison and Ted Millers’ precious red maple—in an effort to make his unsightly property more appealing to buyers—their once serene town becomes a battleground. While tensions between Ted and Nick escalate, other dysfunctions abound: Allison finds herself compulsively drawn to the man who is threatening to upend her quietly organized life. A lawyer with a pot habit and a serious midlife crisis skirts his responsibilities. And in a quest for popularity, a teenage girl gets caught up in a not-so-harmless prank. Newcomers and longtime residents alike begin to clash in conflicting pursuits of the American Dream, with trees mysteriously uprooted, fires set, fingers pointed, and lines drawn. White Elephant is an uproarious, tangled-web tale of neighbor hating neighbor (and neighbor falling head over heels for neighbor). Soon, peaceful Willard Park becomes a tinderbox with nowhere to go but up in flames.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Book Review Staff Pick

A turf war between neighbors leads to a small-town crisis in this hilarious, addictive, and sharply observant debut novel.

The White Elephant looms large over the quaint suburban town of Willard Park: a gaudy, newly constructed behemoth of a home, it soars over the neighborhood, dwarfing the houses that surround it. When owner Nick Cox cuts down Allison and Ted Millers’ precious red maple—in an effort to make his unsightly property more appealing to buyers—their once serene town becomes a battleground.

While tensions between Ted and Nick escalate, other dysfunctions abound: Allison finds herself compulsively drawn to the man who is threatening to upend her quietly organized life. A lawyer with a pot habit and a serious midlife crisis skirts his responsibilities. And in a quest for popularity, a teenage girl gets caught up in a not-so-harmless prank. Newcomers and longtime residents alike begin to clash in conflicting pursuits of the American Dream, with trees mysteriously uprooted, fires set, fingers pointed, and lines drawn.

White Elephant is an uproarious, tangled-web tale of neighbor hating neighbor (and neighbor falling head over heels for neighbor). Soon, peaceful Willard Park becomes a tinderbox with nowhere to go but up in flames.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Smart, riveting…Langsdorf is a keen observer of human frailty and desire and her characters are darkly funny, recognizably exasperating and deeply memorable.” Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, New York Times bestselling author
“Langsdorf captures—and skewers—over-the-top consumerism in this jaunty novel of real estate, marriage and sex.” New York Times Book Review
“Lively and entertaining…This ambitious and intriguing work about the American suburbs is perfect for fans of Ann Patchett or Meg Wolitzer.” Publishers Weekly
“Langsdorf gleefully skewers small-town stereotypes…But beneath the caricatures are deeper truths about belonging, community, and relationships. In this smartly satirical novel, the raging feud reveals much about the residents’ core values.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Julie Langsdorf

Author Bio: Julie Langsdorf

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 9.89
Audience: Adult
Language: English