The Book of Dreams by Nina George audiobook

The Book of Dreams

By Nina George

Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Not Available For Sale in us

    ISBN: 9781471168376

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop, comes a delightful, offbeat, charming and bittersweet tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love and friendship. Henri is about to meet his teenage son, Sam, for the first time. But as Henri crosses Hammersmith Bridge, an accident happens. Sam reads about it in the newspaper - his father is a hero, now in a coma in hospital. So their first meeting takes place there, alongside the hospital’s neurologist, whom the staff name God and is the first person to treat Sam as an equal in intelligence. And that’s because Sam, due to a condition called synaesthesia, can sense things the doctors can’t - he can see the colours of his father’s thoughts and dreams, and many relationships build from this.  This beautiful novel is warm, wise, wry look at what love means. It’s about fathers and sons, friendship and family, life, death and making peace with the past in order to find a future. Praise for Nina George’s novels: ‘This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie’Red ‘George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance’ Mail on Sunday ‘Glowing . . . layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books’ Daily Mail ‘A true gem for fiction lovers’ Good Housekeeping ‘A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance’ Saga ‘A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment’ Carole Matthews ‘If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel . . . Everything happens just as you want it to . . . from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure’ oprah.com   'An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read' Independent   'A life-affirming novel' Sunday Express  

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop, comes a delightful, offbeat, charming and bittersweet tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love and friendship.

Henri is about to meet his teenage son, Sam, for the first time. But as Henri crosses Hammersmith Bridge, an accident happens. Sam reads about it in the newspaper - his father is a hero, now in a coma in hospital. So their first meeting takes place there, alongside the hospital’s neurologist, whom the staff name God and is the first person to treat Sam as an equal in intelligence. And that’s because Sam, due to a condition called synaesthesia, can sense things the doctors can’t - he can see the colours of his father’s thoughts and dreams, and many relationships build from this. 

This beautiful novel is warm, wise, wry look at what love means. It’s about fathers and sons, friendship and family, life, death and making peace with the past in order to find a future.

Praise for Nina George’s novels:

‘This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie’Red

‘George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance’ Mail on Sunday

‘Glowing . . . layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books’ Daily Mail

‘A true gem for fiction lovers’ Good Housekeeping

‘A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance’ Saga

‘A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment’ Carole Matthews

‘If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel . . . Everything happens just as you want it to . . . from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure’ oprah.com
 
'An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read' Independent
 
'A life-affirming novel' Sunday Express
 

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nina George

Author Bio: Nina George

Nina George works as a journalist, writer, and storytelling teacher. She is the award-winning author of over two dozen books, and also writes feature articles, short stories, and columns. The Little Paris Bookshop spent over a year on bestseller lists in Germany and was a bestseller in Italy, Poland, and the Netherlands. She is married to the writer Jens J. Kramer and lives in Germany and France.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Audience: Adult
Language: English