The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan audiobook

The Scholar

By Dervla McTiernan
Read by Aoife McMahon

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing 9780143133698

The Cormac Reilly Series: Book 2

10.33 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $10.97

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781538543399

  • Regular Price: $6.95

    Special Price $5.56

    ISBN: 9781538543405

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $19.22

    ISBN: 9781538543375

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 7-14 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $16.47

    ISBN: 9781538543382

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 7-14 days

A compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal—her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland’s most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy—it has even funded Emma’s own groundbreaking research. As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac’s running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy? A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Shortlisted for the Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Fiction

Shortlisted for the Davitt Award for Best Crime Novel

An Audible Pick of Listeners' Favorites of the Month

A Better Homes & Gardens Pick of Best Books of the Month

A compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him.

The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal—her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland’s most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy—it has even funded Emma’s own groundbreaking research.

As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac’s running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy?

A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A superbly paced, engaging read.” Women’s Way
“A truly fine police procedural.” Irish Independent (Dublin)
“McMahon’s soft, melodic Irish accent complements McTiernan’s prose. She is equally adept at instilling critical moments with the appropriate intensity, making this thriller a joy to listen to.” AudioFile
“Strong characters, sharp psychological insights, and carefully paced plotting.” Seattle Times
“Shades of Ross Macdonald…A complex, densely plotted murder investigation.” Irish Times
“The perfectly cast narrator Aoife McMahon is also back for a repeat performance. Everthing about this series is smart, yet more entertaining than challenging, making for a super satisfying listening experience.” Audible.com
“Aoife McMahon’s skilled narration makes for a gripping listening experience. Fans of Jane Casey and Tana French will devour this twisty procedural.” Library Journal (audio review)
“McTiernan’s cautionary tale about money, prestige, and the secretive world of pharmaceutical research will resonate with many.” Publishers Weekly
“The competition rife in academia is a major theme of this delightful and unexpected tale.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Dervla McTiernan

Author Bio: Dervla McTiernan

International no.1 bestseller Dervla McTiernan’s first two novels, The Rúin and The Scholar, were critically acclaimed around the world. Dervla has won multiple prizes, including a Ned Kelly Award, Davitt Awards, a Barry Award, and an International Thriller Writers Award, and has been shortlisted for numerous others. Dervla’s third book, The Good Turn, went straight to no.1 in the bestseller charts, confirming her place as one of Australia’s best and most popular crime writers.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.33
Audience: Adult
Language: English