Lalani of the Distant Sea by Erin Entrada Kelly audiobook

Lalani of the Distant Sea

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Read by LuLu Lam

Greenwillow Books, HarperCollins 9780062747273
6.57 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062911179

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $29.99

    ISBN: 9781982657017

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982657024

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review) “A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path. When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney’s Moana. Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores. When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task—she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest—how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend? Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk’s Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon. 

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review)

“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.

When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney’s Moana.

Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores.

When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task—she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest—how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend?

Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk’s Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“With lyricism and elegance, Erin Entrada Kelly weaves a rich tale. Powerful and gripping.” Soman Chainani, author of the School for Good and Evil series
“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.” Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Erin Entrada Kelly

Author Bio: Erin Entrada Kelly

Erin Entrada Kelly is the acclaimed author of several books, including Hello, Universe, which was awarded the Newbery Medal. Her debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was named a best book of the year by Kirkus Reviews and School Library Journal and was an Asian/Pacific American Honor Book. The Land of Forgotten Girls won the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and You Go First was a Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize and the Philippines Free Press Literary Award. She earned an MFA degree from Rosemont College. Her mother was the first in her family to emigrate from the Philippines to the United States.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 6.57
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English