Ordinary Girls by Blair Thornburgh audiobook

Ordinary Girls

By Blair Thornburgh
Read by Jorjeana Marie

8.35 Hours 06/04/2019 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062914019

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781982660659

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982660666

Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski and Jenny Han, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense and Sensibility follows two sisters—complete opposites—who discover the secrets they’ve been keeping make them more alike than they’d realized.   For siblings as different as Plum and Ginny, getting on each other’s nerves is par for the course. But when the family’s finances hit a snag, sending chaos through the house in a way only characters from a Jane Austen novel could understand, a distance grows between them like never before. Plum, a self-described social outcast, finally has something in her life that doesn’t revolve around her dramatic older sister. But what if coming into her own means Plum isn’t there for Ginny when she, struggling with a hard secret of her own, needs her most?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski and Jenny Han, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense and Sensibility follows two sisters—complete opposites—who discover the secrets they’ve been keeping make them more alike than they’d realized.  

For siblings as different as Plum and Ginny, getting on each other’s nerves is par for the course. But when the family’s finances hit a snag, sending chaos through the house in a way only characters from a Jane Austen novel could understand, a distance grows between them like never before.

Plum, a self-described social outcast, finally has something in her life that doesn’t revolve around her dramatic older sister. But what if coming into her own means Plum isn’t there for Ginny when she, struggling with a hard secret of her own, needs her most?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A charming riff on Sense and Sensibility, with fully realized characters and a setting—the Blatchley house—so well loved that it feels like a character in its own right…A smart, character-driven contemporary novel with a timeless feel. Highly recommended. School Library Journal
“Thornburgh’s exploration of the power of social comedies and books by and about young women—works often deemed insignificant—shines. A funny, beguiling story of sisterhood, burgeoning self-awareness, and first love.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“The sisters’ relationship—what pulls them apart, what draws them together when their connection is strained—is the story’s beating heart…Wise, funny, [and a} thoroughly contemporary coming-of-age tale.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Blair Thornburgh

Author Bio: Blair Thornburgh Blair Thorburgh writes stories about teenagers with a sense of humor. A graduate of the University of Chicago and of Hamline University’s MFA program in writing for children and young adults, she lives in Philadelphia. Her first novel, Who’s That Girl, was named a Bank Street Best Book of the Year. To learn more about Blair and her love for both Catullus and Joni Mitchell, visit her online at www.blairthornburgh.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Romance
Runtime: 8.35
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English