The Right Sort of Man by Allison Montclair audiobook

The Right Sort of Man

By Allison Montclair
Read by Sarah Nichols

Blackstone Publishing 9781250178367
8.74 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $5.99

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781982636517

  • Regular Price: $6.95

    Special Price $2.78

    ISBN: 9781982636524

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $20.97

    ISBN: 9781982636494

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $17.97

    ISBN: 9781982636500

First comes love, then comes murder. In a London slowly recovering from the ravages of World War II, two very different women join forces to launch a business venture in the heart of Mayfair―The Right Sort Marriage Bureau. Miss Iris Sparks, avuncular and unmarried, and Mrs. Gwendolyn Bainbridge, practical and widowed with a young son, are determined to achieve some independence and do some good in a rapidly changing world. But the promising start to their marriage bureau is threatened when their newest client, Tillie La Salle, is found murdered and the man arrested for the crime is one Dickie Trower, the prospective husband they matched her with. While the police are convinced they have their man, Miss Sparks and Mrs. Bainbridge are not. To clear Trower’s name―and to rescue their fledging operation’s reputation―Sparks and Bainbridge decide to investigate on their own, using the skills and contacts they’ve each acquired through life and their individual adventures during the recent war. In this charming, compelling mystery, Allison Montclair blends meticulous research with two brilliantly imagined main characters into the first in a wonderful new series.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

First comes love, then comes murder.

In a London slowly recovering from the ravages of World War II, two very different women join forces to launch a business venture in the heart of Mayfair―The Right Sort Marriage Bureau. Miss Iris Sparks, avuncular and unmarried, and Mrs. Gwendolyn Bainbridge, practical and widowed with a young son, are determined to achieve some independence and do some good in a rapidly changing world.

But the promising start to their marriage bureau is threatened when their newest client, Tillie La Salle, is found murdered and the man arrested for the crime is one Dickie Trower, the prospective husband they matched her with. While the police are convinced they have their man, Miss Sparks and Mrs. Bainbridge are not. To clear Trower’s name―and to rescue their fledging operation’s reputation―Sparks and Bainbridge decide to investigate on their own, using the skills and contacts they’ve each acquired through life and their individual adventures during the recent war.

In this charming, compelling mystery, Allison Montclair blends meticulous research with two brilliantly imagined main characters into the first in a wonderful new series.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A delightful immersion in the period and personalities, with that touch of depth that transforms a good series to a great one.” Laurie R. King, New York Times bestselling author
“Full of heart, astute, and darkly comic, The Right Sort of Man is a keenly observed historical mystery.” Cara Black, New York Times bestselling author
“Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“The Right Sort of Man Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date!" Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Fans of M. C. Beaton will relish the wit, and followers of Susan Elia MacNeal and Jacqueline Winspear will enjoy the depth and the period detail. Readers will want to get on the reserve list for the next Iris and Gwen adventure!” Booklist
"[A] delightful adventure with two thoroughly modern women fighting for a place in a rapidly changing world. Can’t wait for the next installment!” Victoria Thompson, author of Murder on Union Square
“Utterly fabulous! Vivid historical detail, gorgeous prose, and witty, unforgettable characters all combine to make The Right Sort of Man one of the best books I’ve read this year.” Anna Lee Huber, author of the Lady Darby Mysteries
“Rarely have I seen a novel that manages to be so charming and so substantial at the same time. The Right Sort of Man does more than nail post-WWII London in pitch-perfect setting and language—it introduces a female dynamic duo with whom I very quickly fell in love. The end of this book left me with a single thought: when can I read the next Iris and Gwen adventure?” Lyndsay Faye, author of The Gods of Gotham
The Right Sort of Man is the right sort of book! I loved every minute of this delightful adventure with two thoroughly modern women fighting for a place in a rapidly changing world. Can’t wait for the next installment!” Victoria Thompson, author of Murder on Trinity Place

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Allison Montclair

Author Bio: Allison Montclair

Allison Montclair grew up devouring hand-me-down Agatha Christie paperbacks and James Bond movies. As a result of this deplorable upbringing, she became addicted to tales of crime, intrigue, and espionage. She now spends her spare time poking through the corners, nooks, and crannies of history, searching for the odd mysterious bits and transforming them into novels of her own.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 8.74
Audience: Adult
Language: English