Dakota by Gwen Florio audiobook

Dakota

By Gwen Florio
Read by Caroline Shaffer

Blackstone Publishing 9781579623623

The Lola Wicks Series: Book 2

9.03 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781482997606

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482169027

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781482997644

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781482997620

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Former foreign correspondent Lola Wicks is getting a little bored in Magpie, Montana, where she landed at a small local newspaper after being downsized from her job in Kabul. Then Judith Calf Looking, a local Blackfeet Indian girl missing for several months, turns up dead in a snowbank with a mysterious brand on her forearm. The sheriff—whose romantic relationship with Lola provides Magpie with its most delicious gossip in years—thinks Judith probably froze to death while hitchhiking back to the reservation from wherever she'd been. But Lola hears rumors that Judith had been working as an exotic dancer in the North Dakota oil fields and further discovers that several Blackfeet girls, all known drug users, have gone missing over the past year. She heads out to the oil patch to check things out, only to find herself in a place where men outnumber women a hundred to one, the law looks the other way, and life—especially her own—is cheap. Dakota shows the frightening underside of a boom-and-bust economy; of the effect on a small town when big-city money washes in, accompanied by hordes of men far from their families; of what happens when the old rules no longer apply but the new ones are yet to be determined.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Former foreign correspondent Lola Wicks is getting a little bored in Magpie, Montana, where she landed at a small local newspaper after being downsized from her job in Kabul. Then Judith Calf Looking, a local Blackfeet Indian girl missing for several months, turns up dead in a snowbank with a mysterious brand on her forearm. The sheriff—whose romantic relationship with Lola provides Magpie with its most delicious gossip in years—thinks Judith probably froze to death while hitchhiking back to the reservation from wherever she'd been.

But Lola hears rumors that Judith had been working as an exotic dancer in the North Dakota oil fields and further discovers that several Blackfeet girls, all known drug users, have gone missing over the past year. She heads out to the oil patch to check things out, only to find herself in a place where men outnumber women a hundred to one, the law looks the other way, and life—especially her own—is cheap.

Dakota shows the frightening underside of a boom-and-bust economy; of the effect on a small town when big-city money washes in, accompanied by hordes of men far from their families; of what happens when the old rules no longer apply but the new ones are yet to be determined.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A gripping read, sure to make readers restless for a third Lola Wicks mystery.” Booklist
“Florio succeeds with her second riveting Lola title…The hard-nosed feminine perspective is refreshing. For fans of Lori Armstrong and Craig Johnson.” Library Journal
“Florio’s second novel mines familiar ground with another look at American Indian culture along the frozen US-Canadian border territory, with a compelling mystery folded in to add spice to the mix…The writing is top-notch, and the action builds at just the right pace. In Florio’s capable hands, Lola Wicks is going to be around for a long, long time.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Gwen Florio

Author Bio: Gwen Florio

Gwen Florio is a veteran journalist who has covered stories ranging from the shootings at Columbine High School and the trial of Timothy McVeigh, the Oklahoma City bomber, to the glitz of the Miss America pageant and the more practical Miss Navajo contest. She has reported from Afghanistan, Iraq, and Somalia, as well as Lost Springs, Wyoming (population three). She has twice been nominated for the Pulitzer Prize; her short fiction, for the Pushcart.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.03
Audience: Adult
Language: English