In the Line of Fire by Rosalind Noonan audiobook

In the Line of Fire: A Laura Mori Mystery

By R. J. Noonan
Read by Emily Woo Zeller

Blackstone Publishing 9781643850153

The Laura Mori Mysteries: Book 2

9.78 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Rental (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $7.98

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781982629243

  • Regular Price: $6.95

    Special Price $1.74

    ISBN: 9781982629250

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $17.48

    ISBN: 9781982629229

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $14.98

    ISBN: 9781982629236

In the vein of Lisa Jackson and Julia Maynard, a dark and compulsive mystery about secrets too big for the small town’s britches. When secrets are too big to buy, it’s worth killing to bury them. Growing up, Laura Mori was constantly overshadowed by her far more successful siblings. She had a tough time appeasing her parents, and now that she’s a police officer, recently promoted to detective, they still seem less than fazed. Everyone knows a cop’s salary―it’s meager, to say the least. But Laura has found her calling―she was born to be a detective and is determined to prove it, if not to her parents, then at least to the boys club that is Sunrise Lake PD. She sticks out like a sore thumb as the only young female minority, but she has resolved to at least seem like an unshakeable thumb. The next case file on her desk turns out to be a bank heist and it should be easy enough, but what starts off as a one-and-done job quickly begins to seem too by-the-book and oddly like a notorious series of deadly bank hits from years past dubbed Twilight. But it’s a dead end―Twilight is only ever mentioned in hushed tones, and there’s little to no history on it in the department. And then she receives her first sign, of many more to come, that her investigation is not welcome. Alongside her partner Z and stunningly attractive FBI agent Nick Derringer, she begins to pull on the frayed thread, and that’s when she sees the bloody writing on the wall: the only other young female cop on the force was KIA during Twilight. With too much on the line to lose, including her own life, Laura must get to the bottom of the case and fast, or she, too, will become history.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In the vein of Lisa Jackson and Julia Maynard, a dark and compulsive mystery about secrets too big for the small town’s britches.

When secrets are too big to buy, it’s worth killing to bury them.

Growing up, Laura Mori was constantly overshadowed by her far more successful siblings. She had a tough time appeasing her parents, and now that she’s a police officer, recently promoted to detective, they still seem less than fazed. Everyone knows a cop’s salary―it’s meager, to say the least. But Laura has found her calling―she was born to be a detective and is determined to prove it, if not to her parents, then at least to the boys club that is Sunrise Lake PD. She sticks out like a sore thumb as the only young female minority, but she has resolved to at least seem like an unshakeable thumb.

The next case file on her desk turns out to be a bank heist and it should be easy enough, but what starts off as a one-and-done job quickly begins to seem too by-the-book and oddly like a notorious series of deadly bank hits from years past dubbed Twilight. But it’s a dead end―Twilight is only ever mentioned in hushed tones, and there’s little to no history on it in the department. And then she receives her first sign, of many more to come, that her investigation is not welcome. Alongside her partner Z and stunningly attractive FBI agent Nick Derringer, she begins to pull on the frayed thread, and that’s when she sees the bloody writing on the wall: the only other young female cop on the force was KIA during Twilight.

With too much on the line to lose, including her own life, Laura must get to the bottom of the case and fast, or she, too, will become history.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Laura’s sensitive approach to law enforcement makes a refreshing change from the standard police procedural. Readers will hope to see more of this appealing heroine.” Publishers Weekly
“Caught me from page one and wouldn’t let me go! I loved it!” Lisa Jackson, New York Times bestselling author, on Where the Lost Girls Go
“Noonan does a wonderful job of blending the mystery behind the crime with a cast of well-developed characters whose personal stories pull the reader into the novel.” RT Book Reviews on In a Heartbeat

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Rosalind Noonan

Author Bio: Rosalind Noonan

Rosalind Noonan, a graduate of Wagner College in New York, is a New York Times bestselling author. She writes mysteries under the name R. J. Noonan. She lives in the Pacific Northwest, where she writes in the shade of some towering two-hundred-year-old Douglas fir trees.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.78
Audience: Adult
Language: English