The Lager Queen of Minnesota by J. Ryan Stradal audiobook

The Lager Queen of Minnesota: A Novel

By J. Ryan Stradal
Read by Judith Ivey

Penguin Audio 9780399563058
11.22 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781524777685

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $40.00

    ISBN: 9781524777678

A National Bestseller! “The perfect pick-me-up on a hot summer day.”  —Washington Post   “[A] charmer of a tale. . . Warm, witty and--like any good craft beer--complex, the saga delivers a subtly feminist and wholly life-affirming message.” —People Magazine   A novel of family, Midwestern values, hard work, fate and the secrets of making a world-class beer, from the bestselling author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest Two sisters, one farm. A family is split when their father leaves their shared inheritance entirely to Helen, his younger daughter. Despite baking award-winning pies at the local nursing home, her older sister, Edith, struggles to make what most people would call a living. So she can't help wondering what her life would have been like with even a portion of the farm money her sister kept for herself. With the proceeds from the farm, Helen builds one of the most successful light breweries in the country, and makes their company motto ubiquitous: "Drink lots. It's Blotz." Where Edith has a heart as big as Minnesota, Helen's is as rigid as a steel keg. Yet one day, Helen will find she needs some help herself, and she could find a potential savior close to home. . . if it's not too late. Meanwhile, Edith's granddaughter, Diana, grows up knowing that the real world requires a tougher constitution than her grandmother possesses. She earns a shot at learning the IPA business from the ground up--will that change their fortunes forever, and perhaps reunite her splintered family? Here we meet a cast of lovable, funny, quintessentially American characters eager to make their mark in a world that's often stacked against them. In this deeply affecting family saga, resolution can take generations, but when it finally comes, we're surprised, moved, and delighted.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An O Magazine Pick of the Month's Best New Books

A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice

A Booklist Editors’ Choice of Best Audiobooks of the Year

A BookPage Top Pick for August in Family Drama Novels

A July 2019 LibraryReads Pick

A National Bestseller!

“The perfect pick-me-up on a hot summer day.” 
—Washington Post

 
“[A] charmer of a tale. . . Warm, witty and--like any good craft beer--complex, the saga delivers a subtly feminist and wholly life-affirming message.”
—People Magazine
 
A novel of family, Midwestern values, hard work, fate and the secrets of making a world-class beer, from the bestselling author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest

Two sisters, one farm. A family is split when their father leaves their shared inheritance entirely to Helen, his younger daughter. Despite baking award-winning pies at the local nursing home, her older sister, Edith, struggles to make what most people would call a living. So she can't help wondering what her life would have been like with even a portion of the farm money her sister kept for herself.

With the proceeds from the farm, Helen builds one of the most successful light breweries in the country, and makes their company motto ubiquitous: "Drink lots. It's Blotz." Where Edith has a heart as big as Minnesota, Helen's is as rigid as a steel keg. Yet one day, Helen will find she needs some help herself, and she could find a potential savior close to home. . . if it's not too late.

Meanwhile, Edith's granddaughter, Diana, grows up knowing that the real world requires a tougher constitution than her grandmother possesses. She earns a shot at learning the IPA business from the ground up--will that change their fortunes forever, and perhaps reunite her splintered family?

Here we meet a cast of lovable, funny, quintessentially American characters eager to make their mark in a world that's often stacked against them. In this deeply affecting family saga, resolution can take generations, but when it finally comes, we're surprised, moved, and delighted.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The Minnesota native’s energetic prose once again captures the optimism of the heartland.” Time
“[A] quirky, enchanting novel.” O, The Oprah Magazine
“The book…could cement J. Ryan Stradal as the King of Midwestern novels.” Entertainment Weekly
“Everything about this book satisfies — from how the characters grow to how beer-making is described to Stradal’s hilarious assessment of lagers vs IPAs. You may never drink a beer in ignorance again.” Minneapolis Star Tribune
“Stradal’s gift for getting the reader to invest in these lives is particularly profound.” Chicago Tribune
Delightful. New York Post
“This book tastes great, is quite filling, and never bitter.” BookPage (starred review)
Stradal's second novel goes down easy. Imbued with Midwestern references and the importance of a 'can-do' attitude, this warm, witty novel willappeal to fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Meg Wolitzer. Booklist (starred)
“Stradal’s writing is sharp and funny while still managing to treat each character with warmth and respect…This is an ultimately hopeful and heartwarming story.” Kirkus Reviews (starred)
Refreshing. . .This story about how a family business succeeds with generations of strong and determined women at the helm makes for a sometimes sad, sometimes funny, but always winning novel. Publishers Weekly
Brilliant. . . a love letter to the Midwest. . . it’s hard to put down not only because the storytelling is so seamless and the characters so relatable, but because the author's delight in the written word is so contagious. Jen Sincero, #1 New York Times bestselling author of You Are a Badass
Utterly charming. . .  Stradal loves and knows his territory, and his affection for the Midwest—with all its stubbornness, stoicism, long memories, readiness to provide aid and quiet pride in excellence--gleams on every page. Janet Fitch, bestselling author of The Revolution of Marina M.
The Lager Queen of Minnesota is pure reading joy: warm, funny, informative, and full of heart. It is impossible not to root for Stradal's characters, who are so vivid, and relatable that you will miss them every time you set the book down; indeed, if you set it down at all. Jonathan Evison, New York Times bestselling author of Lawn Boy
Warm, whimsical, incredibly well-written and infused with Stradal’s signature sympathy for his characters--those everyday heroes we all know and love. . . a thorough delight, from beginning to end. Nickolas Butler, internationally bestselling author of Shotgun Lovesongs 
Full of the easy-to-love quaffability of a perfect ale, Stradal’s The Lager Queen of Minnesota will warm your heart. With empathy, love, wisdom and humor on every page, I wish I could go back for more. Jade Chang, author of The Wangs vs. The World
"The Lager Queen of Minnesota is the kind of book you think about all day, while at work, while speaking to someone else, while in line at the market. . . . I loved this book so much. I carried it with me like a talisman, marveling at the unique storytelling of J. Ryan Stradal, who knows his people so well. It's a portrait of America, of place and land and neighborhood, and, of course, a celebration of beer. Susan Straight, author of Highwire Moon
"A book to make you laugh and cry and believe the best days of your life are still in front of you. Ben Loory, author of Tales of Falling and Flying

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: J. Ryan Stradal

Author Bio: J. Ryan Stradal

J. Ryan Stradal is a fiction editor for The Nervous Breakdown and an editor-at-large at Unnamed Press. He has worked in television since 2000. His bestselling debut, Kitchens of the Great Midwest, won the 2016 Midwest Booksellers Choice Award for debut fiction. Born and raised in Minnesota, he now lives in Los Angeles.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 11.22
Audience: Adult
Language: English