A Bend in the Stars by Rachel Barenbaum audiobook

A Bend in the Stars

By Rachel Barenbaum
Read by Thérèse Plummer  and Eduardo Ballerini

Grand Central Publishing, Hachette Book Group 9781538746264
13.20 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $25.98

    Special Price $10.39

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549175718

  • Regular Price: $40.00

    Special Price $20.00

    ISBN: 9781549125027

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes this bestselling, riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe. In Russia, in the summer of 1914, as war with Germany looms and the Czar's army tightens its grip on the local Jewish community, Miri Abramov and her brilliant physicist brother, Vanya, are facing an impossible decision. Since their parents drowned fleeing to America, Miri and Vanya have been raised by their babushka, a famous matchmaker who has taught them to protect themselves at all costs: to fight, to kill if necessary, and always to have an escape plan. But now, with fierce, headstrong Miri on the verge of becoming one of Russia's only female surgeons, and Vanya hoping to solve the final puzzles of Einstein's elusive theory of relativity, can they bear to leave the homeland that has given them so much? Before they have time to make their choice, war is declared and Vanya goes missing, along with Miri's fiancé. Miri braves the firing squad to go looking for them both. As the eclipse that will change history darkens skies across Russia, not only the safety of Miri's own family but the future of science itself hangs in the balance. Grounded in real history -- and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914 -- A Bend in the Stars offers a heartstopping account of modern science's greatest race amidst the chaos of World War I, and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Forbes Magazine Pick of Best Historical Novels for Summer

A Globe and Mail (Toronto) Best Books of Summer 

A Barnes & Noble Pick for Summer

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes this bestselling, riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe.
In Russia, in the summer of 1914, as war with Germany looms and the Czar's army tightens its grip on the local Jewish community, Miri Abramov and her brilliant physicist brother, Vanya, are facing an impossible decision. Since their parents drowned fleeing to America, Miri and Vanya have been raised by their babushka, a famous matchmaker who has taught them to protect themselves at all costs: to fight, to kill if necessary, and always to have an escape plan. But now, with fierce, headstrong Miri on the verge of becoming one of Russia's only female surgeons, and Vanya hoping to solve the final puzzles of Einstein's elusive theory of relativity, can they bear to leave the homeland that has given them so much?
Before they have time to make their choice, war is declared and Vanya goes missing, along with Miri's fiancé. Miri braves the firing squad to go looking for them both. As the eclipse that will change history darkens skies across Russia, not only the safety of Miri's own family but the future of science itself hangs in the balance.
Grounded in real history -- and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914 -- A Bend in the Stars offers a heartstopping account of modern science's greatest race amidst the chaos of World War I, and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A sweeping epic that transports the reader into another era, even as the struggles of its characters feel powerfully modern and timely.” Madeline Miller, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“An epic love story and a tale of scientific discovery.” Globe and Mail
“An epic adventure that spins through rich terrain; several engrossing love stories, including one between remarkable siblings; and a scientific intrigue that pits dark ambition against a passionate love of science.” Los Angeles Review of Books
A rousing debut...Fans of Kristen Hannah will enjoy Barenbaum's exhilarating tale. Publishers Weekly
“Two accomplished narrators do everything they can to make it gripping listening…Plummer, narrating the chapters from female points of view, and Ballerini, taking the males, use their skills to bring out every bit of drama.” AudioFile
With the timelessness of a folk tale, the twists and turns of an adventure story, and the pleasures of a science thriller, A Bend in the Stars both fills the reader's heart and keeps it beating fast. This novel's strong gravitational pull draws you powerfully alongside Miri and Vanya in their harrowing quests, and its emotional payoff makes you never want to let them go. Christopher Castellani, author of Leading Men
Rachel Barenbaum's A Bend in the Stars is a beautiful thrill ride steeped in the history of Czarist Russia, from its poverty-ridden shtetls to its roaring trains, and the awesome lure of science. This is a book of history rewritten, dreams realized, and justice served-a book about relativity, war, hatred, and the weight of our assumptions and our great loves. Michelle Hoover, author of The Quickening

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Rachel Barenbaum

Author Bio: Rachel Barenbaum

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 13.20
Audience: Adult
Language: English