The Rosewater Insurrection by Tade Thompson audiobook

The Rosewater Insurrection

By Tade Thompson
Read by Bayo Gbadamosi

Orbit

The Wormwood Trilogy: Book 1

13.23 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549175541

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

The Rosewater Insurrection continues the award-winning, cutting edge Wormwood trilogy, set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices. All is quiet in the city of Rosewater as it expands on the back of the gargantuan alien Wormwood. Those who know the truth of the invasion keep the secret. The government agent Aminat, the lover of the retired sensitive Kaaro, is at the forefront of the cold, silent conflict. She must capture a woman who is the key to the survival of the human race. But Aminat is stymied by the machinations of the Mayor of Rosewater and the emergence of an old enemy of Wormwood... Tade Thompson's innovative, genre-bending, Afrofuturist series, the Wormwood Trilogy, is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, William Gibson, and Ann Leckie. The Wormwood Trilogy Rosewater The Rosewater Insurrection

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The Rosewater Insurrection continues the award-winning, cutting edge Wormwood trilogy, set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices.


All is quiet in the city of Rosewater as it expands on the back of the gargantuan alien Wormwood. Those who know the truth of the invasion keep the secret.


The government agent Aminat, the lover of the retired sensitive Kaaro, is at the forefront of the cold, silent conflict. She must capture a woman who is the key to the survival of the human race. But Aminat is stymied by the machinations of the Mayor of Rosewater and the emergence of an old enemy of Wormwood...


Tade Thompson's innovative, genre-bending, Afrofuturist series, the Wormwood Trilogy, is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, William Gibson, and Ann Leckie.


The Wormwood Trilogy

Rosewater

The Rosewater Insurrection

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Perfect for fans of William Gibson's Neuromancer, this twisty, captivating page-turner explores the fragility of the mind and how memory constructs identity. BookPage on Rosewater
As strange, vivid and intricate as the alien biosphere at its heart, Rosewater is a fabulous book and Tade Thompson is a writer of enormous heart and talent. Just brilliant. Dave Hutchinson on Rosewater
Original, entertaining, and food for thought. Tade Thompson is an exciting new voice in our field and I can't wait to read more of his work. Pat Cadigan on Rosewater
Mind-bending.... Alternately epic and almost claustrophobically intimate.... The exciting second half and intriguing ending set the stage for what promises to be a fascinating conclusion. Publishers Weekly
This thrilling, ambitious novel offers a deftly woven and incisive blend of science fiction, psychology, action, and mystery. Highly recommended. Kate Elliott on Rosewater
A sharply satirical, ingenious thriller about an alien invasion that's disturbing familiar. Tade Thompson has built a fascinating world that will suck you in and keep you guessing. This book will eat you alive, and you'll like it. Annalee Newitz on Rosewater
A strange and unsettling story of psychics, conspiracy, and alien invasion unlike anything I've read before. Masterfully constructed, brimming with ideas and slowly unfolding mystery, Rosewater hurt my brain in the best of ways. Fonda Lee on Rosewater
Compellingly strange yet accessible... a character-driven, morally grey tale of hope and potential redemption. Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Rosewater
I found myself close to tears, the human cost of insurrection laid bare. Thompson's willingness to push himself as a writer, to not just rely on his strengths -- the zippy dialogue, the sharp storytelling -- is the reason I will continue to follow his career, why I will read whatever he writes. Locus
"Non-linear, challenging, and beautifully told, this novel represents the chilling, gorgeous future of 21st-century sci-fi. B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog
One of the most imaginative alien invasion scenarios I have come across. Aliette de Bodard, Nebula and BSFA award-winning author, on Rosewater
"One of the most thoughtful and inventive alien contact tales of recent decades. Locus on Rosewater
A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas. Adrian Tchaikovsky on Rosewater
Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one. M. R. Carey on Rosewater
Intriguing Afrofuturistic tale [that] features an incredible mashup of alien contact and human-centered power, delivering a stark and gritty story that will keep readers engaged. Library Journal
"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous! Ann Leckie on Rosewater
A fiercely weird, breathtaking biopunk tale of alien invasion, Rosewater is ambitious and smart and very, very cool. Tasha Suri on Rosewater
Inventive aliens and realistic-feeling invasion... keen observations of how easily people ignore and accept what should be terrifying... intriguing characters (many of them women) who have lives of their own beyond the pages... fascinating. Strange Horizons on Rosewater
Terrific... raises the bar, introducing a number of fascinating new elements into an already intriguing storyline. If you haven't go started on it already this is a series you'll want to get on board with now. Toronto Star
Nothing short of brilliant.... A captivating, cerebral work of science fiction that may very well signal a new definitive voice in the genre. Kirkus on Rosewater
Deeply imagined characters and vibrant, startling imagery... An author to watch. B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog on Rosewater
Thompson's genius in displacing his tale of successive xenobiological attacks from the West onto the developing world is matched by his breathtakingly smart prose.... Deeply engrossing. The Seattle Review of Books on Rosewater
Quite simply one of best books I have read for quite some time. SFCrowsnest on Rosewater
"Inventive and creepy... revolutionary. Ozy on Rosewater
Part thriller, part mystery and part phantasmagoric journey across a strange yet not-too-distant future, and reminiscent at times of both Roger Zelazny and Nnedi Okorafor, Rosewater is the hardboiled, Nigerian alien invasion story you always wanted. Lavie Tidhar on Rosewater

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tade Thompson

Author Bio: Tade Thompson Tade Thompson is the author of Rosewater, a John W. Campbell Award finalist and winner of the 2017 Nommo Awards for African speculative fiction. Born in London to Yoruba parents, he lives and works on the south coast of England as an emergency room psychiatrist.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 13.23
Audience: Adult
Language: English