The Doll Factory by Elizabeth Macneal audiobook

The Doll Factory: A Novel

By Elizabeth Macneal
Read by Tuppence Middleton

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982106768
10.91 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781508296096

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781508296119

The #1 International BestsellerThis terrifically exciting novel will jolt, thrill, and bewitch readers.” —Booklist, starred review Obsession is an art. In this “sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art, and obsession” (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train), a beautiful young woman aspires to be an artist, while a man’s dark obsession may destroy her world forever. In 1850s London, the Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park and, among the crowd watching the dazzling spectacle, two people meet by happenstance. For Iris, an arrestingly attractive aspiring artist, it is a brief and forgettable moment but for Silas, a curiosity collector enchanted by all things strange and beautiful, the meeting marks a new beginning. When Iris is asked to model for Pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly, her world begins to expand beyond her wildest dreams—but she has no idea that evil is waiting in the shadows. Silas has only thought of one thing since that chance meeting, and his obsession is darkening by the day. “A page-turning psychological thriller” (Essie Fox, author of The Somnambulist) that will haunt you long after you finish it, The Doll Factory is perfect for fans of The Alienist, Drood, and The Historian.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice

A BookPage Top Pick of the Month in Historical Fiction

The #1 International Bestseller

This terrifically exciting novel will jolt, thrill, and bewitch readers.” —Booklist, starred review

Obsession is an art.

In this “sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art, and obsession” (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train), a beautiful young woman aspires to be an artist, while a man’s dark obsession may destroy her world forever.

In 1850s London, the Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park and, among the crowd watching the dazzling spectacle, two people meet by happenstance. For Iris, an arrestingly attractive aspiring artist, it is a brief and forgettable moment but for Silas, a curiosity collector enchanted by all things strange and beautiful, the meeting marks a new beginning.

When Iris is asked to model for Pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly, her world begins to expand beyond her wildest dreams—but she has no idea that evil is waiting in the shadows. Silas has only thought of one thing since that chance meeting, and his obsession is darkening by the day.

“A page-turning psychological thriller” (Essie Fox, author of The Somnambulist) that will haunt you long after you finish it, The Doll Factory is perfect for fans of The Alienist, Drood, and The Historian.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A stunningly confident first novel with a real sense of period and place…Thoroughly engrossing.” Ian Rankin, New York Times bestselling author
“A lush, evocative Gothic.” New York Times Book Review
“A darkly beautiful exploration of the razor’s edge between creation and destruction.” BookPage (starred review)
“An exquisite novel of obsession, delusion, resilience, and love, Elizabeth Macneal really is a breathtaking new talent.” AJ Pearce, internationally bestselling author
“Vivid, poignant, colorful, and elegantly horrifying.” Bridget Collins, internationally bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Elizabeth Macneal

Author Bio: Elizabeth Macneal

Born in Scotland, Elizabeth Macneal is a potter based in Limehouse, East London, working from a small studio at the bottom of her garden. She read English literature at Oxford University and completed the Creative Writing MA at UEA in 2017. She won the Caledonia Novel Award for her debut novel The Doll Factory.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 10.91
Audience: Adult
Language: English