The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert audiobook

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

By Brandy Colbert
Read by Andrea Laing

Little, Brown Young Readers, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, Hachette Book Group 9780316448567
6.51 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $24.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549148880

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $29.00

    Special Price $18.85

    ISBN: 9781549182242

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

From Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert comes a novel about first love and secrets, perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon. Dove “Birdie” Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her. She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she’s on track to finish high school at the top of her class. But then Birdie falls hard for Booker, a sweet boy with a troubled past, whom she knows her parents will never approve of. When her estranged aunt Carlene returns to Chicago and moves into the family’s apartment above their hair salon, Birdie notices the tension building at home. Carlene is sweet, friendly, and open-minded—and she has also spent decades in and out of treatment facilities for addiction. As Birdie becomes closer to both Booker and Carlene, she yearns to spread her wings. But when long-buried secrets rise to the surface, everything she’s known to be true is turned upside down.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

From Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert comes a novel about first love and secrets, perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon.

Dove “Birdie” Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her. She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she’s on track to finish high school at the top of her class. But then Birdie falls hard for Booker, a sweet boy with a troubled past, whom she knows her parents will never approve of.

When her estranged aunt Carlene returns to Chicago and moves into the family’s apartment above their hair salon, Birdie notices the tension building at home. Carlene is sweet, friendly, and open-minded—and she has also spent decades in and out of treatment facilities for addiction. As Birdie becomes closer to both Booker and Carlene, she yearns to spread her wings. But when long-buried secrets rise to the surface, everything she’s known to be true is turned upside down.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Brilliantly delves into first loves, forbidden romance, rebellion, and family expectations—all of which teens will strongly relate to.” Booklist (starred review)
“An emotionally gripping tale about family and young love and how they can be your entire world while still being worlds apart.” Kirkus Reviews
“The book may actually help struggling teens realize that they are not alone in whatever hardships they may face.” School Library Connection

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Brandy Colbert

Author Bio: Brandy Colbert

Brandy Colbert is the critically acclaimed author of the novels Pointe, The Voting Booth, Finding Yvonne, The Revolution of Birdie Randolph, The Only Black Girls in Town, and the Stonewall Award winner Little & Lion. A trained journalist, she also worked with boundary-breaking ballet dancer Misty Copeland to adapt her memoir into the bestselling book Life in Motion: Young Readers Edition. She is on the faculty at Hamline University’s MFA degree program for writing for children and young adults. find her online at www.brandycolbert.com.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.51
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English