It’s the End of the World as I Know It by Matthew Landis audiobook

It’s the End of the World as I Know It

By Matthew Landis
Read by Matt Godfrey

Blackstone Publishing 9780735228016
5.31 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Rental (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781094023168

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781094023175

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $23.96

    ISBN: 9781094023144

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $23.96

    ISBN: 9781094023151

Derrick is sure that doomsday is coming, and he’s prepping to survive—whether his friends believe him or not—in this middle-grade novel for fans of Gary Schmidt, Gordon Korman, and Jack Gantos. Ever since his mother was killed in the line of duty in Iraq, Derrick has been absolutely certain that the apocalypse is coming. And he’s prepared: he’s got plenty of canned goods, he’s fully outfitted with HAZMAT suits, and he’s building himself a sturdy fallout shelter. When his neighbor Misty insists on helping with the shelter, Derrick doesn’t think it’s such a good idea. Misty’s just had a kidney transplant, and her reaction to her brush with death is the opposite of Derrick’s: where Derrick wants to hide, Misty wants to see and do everything. But as confident as Misty is, Derrick’s doomsday fears just keep getting worse. When Derrick’s promised apocalypse day begins with a very strange disaster, Derrick and Misty have to figure out a way to survive—especially when the end of the world as they know it looks nothing like they expected.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Derrick is sure that doomsday is coming, and he’s prepping to survive—whether his friends believe him or not—in this middle-grade novel for fans of Gary Schmidt, Gordon Korman, and Jack Gantos.

Ever since his mother was killed in the line of duty in Iraq, Derrick has been absolutely certain that the apocalypse is coming. And he’s prepared: he’s got plenty of canned goods, he’s fully outfitted with HAZMAT suits, and he’s building himself a sturdy fallout shelter. When his neighbor Misty insists on helping with the shelter, Derrick doesn’t think it’s such a good idea. Misty’s just had a kidney transplant, and her reaction to her brush with death is the opposite of Derrick’s: where Derrick wants to hide, Misty wants to see and do everything. But as confident as Misty is, Derrick’s doomsday fears just keep getting worse. When Derrick’s promised apocalypse day begins with a very strange disaster, Derrick and Misty have to figure out a way to survive—especially when the end of the world as they know it looks nothing like they expected.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A sympathetic and even sometimes funny look at anxiety disorders and the complexity of grief…The terrifying allure of survivalism makes this journey through trauma a compelling one.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Matthew Landis

Author Bio: Matthew Landis

Matthew Landis slays boredom wherever it lurks in his eighth-grade social studies classroom. He lives in Doylestown, Pennsylvania, with his wife and four kids, some chickens, and a boxer that acts much like the forgotten eldest child.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 5.31
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English