Clean Getaway by Nic Stone audiobook

Clean Getaway

By Nic Stone
Read by Dion Graham

Listening Library (Audio) 9781984892973
3.94 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $15.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780593155394

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $30.00

    ISBN: 9780593155387

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for Black History Month and for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds. How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:     Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.     Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.     Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home. What Not to Bring:     A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual. Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem--his G'ma included. Real historical elements like the Green Book, the subject and namesake of the recent Oscar winning film, make this an educational and powerful read.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for Black History Month and for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:

    Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.

    Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.

    Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home.

What Not to Bring:

    A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual.

Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem--his G'ma included. Real historical elements like the Green Book, the subject and namesake of the recent Oscar winning film, make this an educational and powerful read.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

A radiant masterpiece! Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End
Painfully timely and deeply moving. Jodi Picoult"Raw and gripping.
Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed. Teen Vogue
Declaring yourself--how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with--is treated with real tenderness. The New York Times
For fans of authors who dig complex relationships, like Shannon M. Parker, Ashley Woodfolk and Misa Sugiura. Paste Magazine
Absolutely incredible, honest, gut-wrenching. A must read! Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give
Powerful, wrenching. John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down
"A road novel that serves in part as a primer on important scenes and themes of the civil-rights movement... [A] poignant caper. The Wall Street Journal 
An absolute firecracker of a book. Booklist, starred review
A heartwarming, family-centered adventure that will leave readers guessing until the end.  Publishers Weekly, starred review"Rich in history, Stone's middle-grade debut entertains and informs young readers....A road trip to remember.
"Stone has crafted a history lesson in road-trip form....a good addition for school ­libraries seeking unconventional approaches to history.  School Library Journal
“Narrator Dion Graham’s soft voice evokes the tenderness between biracial middle schooler ‘Scoob’ Lamar and G’ma, his white octogenarian grandmother. There are many other moods in this audio as well, and Graham succeeds with all of them…The mix of humor and emotions, powerful writing, and complex lessons about personal and political injustices are all marvelously expressed by Graham in this compelling listen. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“The complex role race plays in their family and on this trip—Scoob is mixed-race and presents black, and G’ma is white—is explored in a meaningful way that provides details about a period in time as well as present-day realities. Rich in history, Stone’s middle-grade debut entertains and informs young readers…A road trip to remember.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nic Stone

Author Bio: Nic Stone

Nic Stone is an Atlanta native and a Spelman College graduate. After working extensively in teen mentoring and living in Israel for several years, she returned to the United States to write full-time. Her debut novel for young adults, Dear Martin, was a New York Times bestseller and a William C. Morris Award finalist. Odd One Out was an NPR Best Book of the Year and a Rainbow Book List Top Ten selection.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 3.94
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English