The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls by Ursula Hegi audiobook

The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls: A Novel

By Ursula Hegi

Macmillan Audio 9781250156822
7.41 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781250266712

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781250266705

"Narrator Angela Dawe's varied volume and pace create an atmosphere of deep emotions that draw the listener in close...fully realized characters who have relatable issues and emotions take the forefront." -- AudioFile Magazine From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus arrives on Nordstrand in Germany, to the delight of the island’s people. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, just a girl herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret’s Home for Pregnant Girls. After the tragedy, Lotte’s husband escapes with the Zirkus, while she loses the will to care for their surviving son. Tilli steps in, bonding with him in a way she isn’t allowed to with her own baby, taken away at birth. Sabine, struggling to keep her childlike daughter safe in the world, forms a complicated friendship with Lotte. But the mothers' fragile trio is threatened when Lotte and her husband hatch a dangerous plan to reunite their family, and Tilli and Sabine must try to find a way to pull them back to reality. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shining testament to the ways in which women hold each other up in the most unexpected of circumstances. A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books "Mesmerizing...Hegi’s command of the plot and ability to render poignant characters create a satisfyingly emotional story. Hegi’s fans and devotees of literary fiction will treasure this." -- Publishers Weekly “A lyrical meditation on motherhood and mourning.” -- Boston Globe

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

"Narrator Angela Dawe's varied volume and pace create an atmosphere of deep emotions that draw the listener in close...fully realized characters who have relatable issues and emotions take the forefront." -- AudioFile Magazine From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus arrives on Nordstrand in Germany, to the delight of the island’s people. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, just a girl herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret’s Home for Pregnant Girls. After the tragedy, Lotte’s husband escapes with the Zirkus, while she loses the will to care for their surviving son. Tilli steps in, bonding with him in a way she isn’t allowed to with her own baby, taken away at birth. Sabine, struggling to keep her childlike daughter safe in the world, forms a complicated friendship with Lotte. But the mothers' fragile trio is threatened when Lotte and her husband hatch a dangerous plan to reunite their family, and Tilli and Sabine must try to find a way to pull them back to reality. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shining testament to the ways in which women hold each other up in the most unexpected of circumstances. A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books "Mesmerizing...Hegi’s command of the plot and ability to render poignant characters create a satisfyingly emotional story. Hegi’s fans and devotees of literary fiction will treasure this." -- Publishers Weekly “A lyrical meditation on motherhood and mourning.” -- Boston Globe

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Brilliant…Mesmerizing. Chicago Tribune
Deeply moving. J.M. Coetzee
Marvelous. Alice McDermott
Devastatingly honest. San Francisco Chronicle
Masterful. The Washington Post
Stunning. Los Angeles Times
Unforgettable. The Washington Post
“As in a circus after a particularly riveting performance, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls deserves a thunderous round of applause.” Julia Alvarez, author of In the Time of the Butterflies
An outstanding talent. The New York Times Book Review
A writer of grace and immediacy. Meg Wolitzer
Epic, daring, magnificent. Los Angeles Times
“The greatest marvel is Ursula Hegi’s shimmering, radiant, vivid prose. Her characters, and their lives full of love and longing, leap off the page and into the reader’s heart.” Margot Livesey, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Ursula Hegi

Author Bio: Ursula Hegi

Ursula Hegi is the author of The Worst Thing Ive Done, Sacred Time, Hotel of the Saints, The Vision of Emma Blau, Tearing the Silence, Salt Dancers, Stones from the River, Floating in My Mothers Palm, Unearned Pleasures and Other Stories, Intrusions, and Trudi & Pia. She teaches writing at Stonybrooks Southampton Campus and is the recipient of more than thirty grants and awards.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 7.41
Audience: Adult
Language: English