Toxic Charity by Robert D. Lupton audiobook

Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (And How to Reverse It)

By Robert D. Lupton
Read by Chris Andrew Ciulla

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062076212
5.11 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062997203

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $25.99

    ISBN: 9781094107523

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781094107530

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A World Magazine Pick of Top 10 Books of the Year

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A must-read book for those who give or help others.” Booklist
“[Lupton’s]Toxic Charity draws on his forty years’ experience as an urban activist in Atlanta, and he argues that most charitable work is ineffective or actually harmful to those it is supposed to help.” Washington Post
“Lupton says hard things that need to be said, and he’s earned the right to say them. Believers would do well to receive his words with the mindset that ‘faithful are the wounds of a friend.’” Christianity Today

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Robert D. Lupton

Author Bio: Robert D. Lupton

Robert D. Lupton is founder and president of Focused Community Strategies (FCS) Urban Ministries and author of several books, including Toxic Charity; Theirs Is the Kingdom; Return Flight; Renewing the City; and Compassion, Justice, and the Christian Life. He also writes the widely circulated “Urban Perspectives” newsletter. He has a PhD in psychology from the University of Georgia.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/Social Science
Runtime: 5.11
Audience: Adult
Language: English