Broken People by Sam Lansky audiobook

Broken People: A Novel

By Sam Lansky
Read by Sam Lansky

Hanover Square Press, Harlequin Audio 9781335013934
8.74 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781488208454

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781094103525

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781094103532

A groundbreaking, incandescent debut novel about coming to grips with the past and ourselves, for fans of Sally Rooney, Hanya Yanagihara, and Garth Greenwell. “He fixes everything that’s wrong with you in three days.” This is what hooks Sam when he first overhears it at a fancy dinner party in the Hollywood hills: the story of a globe-trotting shaman who claims to perform “open-soul surgery” on emotionally damaged people. For neurotic, depressed Sam, new to Los Angeles after his life in New York imploded, the possibility of total transformation is utterly tantalizing. He’s desperate for something to believe in, and the shaman—who promises ancient rituals, plant medicine and encounters with the divine—seems convincing, enough for Sam to sign up for a weekend under his care. But are the great spirits the shaman says he’s summoning real at all? Or are the ghosts in Sam’s memory more powerful than any magic? At turns tender and acid, funny and wise, Broken People is a journey into the nature of truth and fiction—a story of discovering hope amid cynicism, intimacy within chaos and peace in our own skin.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Vogue Pick of Best Books for Summer

An Indie Next List Pick

A groundbreaking, incandescent debut novel about coming to grips with the past and ourselves, for fans of Sally Rooney, Hanya Yanagihara, and Garth Greenwell.

“He fixes everything that’s wrong with you in three days.”

This is what hooks Sam when he first overhears it at a fancy dinner party in the Hollywood hills: the story of a globe-trotting shaman who claims to perform “open-soul surgery” on emotionally damaged people. For neurotic, depressed Sam, new to Los Angeles after his life in New York imploded, the possibility of total transformation is utterly tantalizing. He’s desperate for something to believe in, and the shaman—who promises ancient rituals, plant medicine and encounters with the divine—seems convincing, enough for Sam to sign up for a weekend under his care.

But are the great spirits the shaman says he’s summoning real at all? Or are the ghosts in Sam’s memory more powerful than any magic?

At turns tender and acid, funny and wise, Broken People is a journey into the nature of truth and fiction—a story of discovering hope amid cynicism, intimacy within chaos and peace in our own skin.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Full of delightful, razor-edged cultural commentary but so too is it a journey of the soul….Sends up LA’s consumerist wellness obsession while exploring the nature of health, acceptance, and human connection.” Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author
“A searing read about truth and identity.” Harper’s Bazaar
“Cuts to the quick of Los Angeles life.” Vogue
“A haunting, honest, and humorous portrayal of how hard it is to find shelter from the ghosts of one’s past.” O, The Oprah Magazine

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sam Lansky

Author Bio: Sam Lansky

Sam Lansky is an editor at Time, focusing on arts and entertainment. He has written for New York, The Atlantic, Esquire, Out, Grantland, and Cosmopolitan.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 8.74
Audience: Adult
Language: English