The Book of V. by Anna Solomon audiobook

The Book of V.: A Novel

By Anna Solomon
Read by Dara Rosenberg , Eva Kaminsky , and Gabra Zackman

Macmillan Audio 9781250257017
9.14 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781250754998

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781250755001

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

**An Audiofile Earphones Award-winning production** For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies, a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day. Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016. Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others. Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all. In Anna Solomon's The Book of V., these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women’s lives have and have not changed over thousands of years. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

**An Audiofile Earphones Award-winning production** For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies, a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day. Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016. Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others. Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all. In Anna Solomon's The Book of V., these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women’s lives have and have not changed over thousands of years. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Anna Solomon reaches across centuries to capture the timeliness and timelessness of being a strong, passionate woman in a world governed by men. How far we’ve come and yet how many of the battles look the same. I was riveted by this searingly inventive, humane, and honest page-turner of a novel.” Mary Beth Keane, author of Ask Again, Yes
The Book of V. is a marvel. It’s a testament to the enduring strength and flexibility of the novel form itself, and a testament to the wisdom, clarity, and boldness of Anna Solomon. She is a remarkable writer who has written an extraordinary book.” Jane Hamilton, author of The Excellent Lombards

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Anna Solomon

Author Bio: Anna Solomon

Anna Solomon is the award-winning author of the critically acclaimed novel The Little Bride. Her fiction has appeared in One Story, the Georgia Review, the Harvard Review, the Missouri Review, Shenandoah, and elsewhere. Her stories have twice been awarded the Pushcart Prize, have won the Missouri Review Editor’s Prize, and have been nominated for a National Magazine Award. The holder of a BA from Brown University and an MFA from the Iowa Writers Workshop, she has taught writing at the Sackett Street Writers Workshop and Manhattanville College.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 9.14
Audience: Adult
Language: English