The Circus Rose by Betsy Cornwell audiobook

The Circus Rose

By Betsy Cornwell
Read by Nicol Zanzarella

Blackstone Publishing 9781328639509
5.37 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $16.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781094058665

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $5.95

    ISBN: 9781094058672

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781094058641

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781094058658

From a New York Times bestselling author comes a queer retelling of Snow White and Rose Red in which teenage twins battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family. The Circus Rose is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Mackenzi Lee, and Laini Taylor. Twins Rosie and Ivory have grown up at their ringmaster mother’s knee, and after years on the road, they’re returning to Port’s End, the closest place to home they know. Yet something has changed in the bustling city: fundamentalist flyers paper the walls and preachers fill the squares, warning of shadows falling over the land. The circus prepares a triumphant homecoming show, full of lights and spectacle that could chase away even the darkest shadow. But during Rosie’s tightrope act, disaster strikes. In this lush, sensuous novel interwoven with themes of social justice and found family, it’s up to Ivory and her magician love—with the help of a dancing bear—to track down an evil priest and save their circus family before it’s too late.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

From a New York Times bestselling author comes a queer retelling of Snow White and Rose Red in which teenage twins battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family. The Circus Rose is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Mackenzi Lee, and Laini Taylor.

Twins Rosie and Ivory have grown up at their ringmaster mother’s knee, and after years on the road, they’re returning to Port’s End, the closest place to home they know. Yet something has changed in the bustling city: fundamentalist flyers paper the walls and preachers fill the squares, warning of shadows falling over the land. The circus prepares a triumphant homecoming show, full of lights and spectacle that could chase away even the darkest shadow. But during Rosie’s tightrope act, disaster strikes.

In this lush, sensuous novel interwoven with themes of social justice and found family, it’s up to Ivory and her magician love—with the help of a dancing bear—to track down an evil priest and save their circus family before it’s too late.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This creative exploration of chosen family, self-knowledge, love, and the tension between opposites is both timely and timeless. Dazzling.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Cornwell retells ‘Snow White and Rose Red,’ placing the classic fairy tale against a lushly imagined circus backdrop…The story tackles crucial themes—including the importance of found family and the dangers of religious fundamentalism—while navigating complex familial relationships and delivering a rich atmosphere.” Publishers Weekly
“A graceful exploration of the families we’re born with and the ones we make.” Booklist
“Cornwell’s themes of body image, abuse, and the danger and pleasure found in relationships of all kinds emerge organically through the book’s visceral, disturbing, and often lovely imagery.” Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Tides
“A fiercely female, feminist take on the traditional legend…A lush, lovely exploration of the bonds of a community as one girl learns about her own privilege, and, eventually, her strength.” Booklist (starred review) on The Forest Queen
“Betsy Cornwell twists Cinderella to her own unique take, and Mechanica will definitely please readers.” USA Today on Mechanica

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Betsy Cornwell

Author Bio: Betsy Cornwell

Betsy Cornwell is the New York Times bestselling author of The Forest Queen, Mechanica, Venturess, and Tides. She graduated from Smith College and was a columnist and editor at Teen Ink before receiving an MFA in creative writing from Notre Dame, where she also taught fiction. She now lives in Ireland with her family.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 5.37
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English