Jane Goes North by Joe R. Lansdale audiobook

Jane Goes North

By Joe R. Lansdale
Read by Kasey Lansdale

Blackstone Publishing 9781596069381
4.84 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $14.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781094072715

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $5.95

    ISBN: 9781094072722

  • $24.95

    ISBN: 9781094072692

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • $19.95

    ISBN: 9781094072708

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Jane has lost her job at the laundry due to a ketchup package she forgot to remove from an expensive item, and her prospects look dim. To top off matters, her younger sister, who lives up north, and who Jane has problems with, is getting married and has mailed her an invitation that Jane believes was sent due to her sister not expecting her to be able to come. A long bout of sibling rivalry makes Jane all the more determined to go, even if her car has gone to hell. To make the journey, Jane forms an uncomfortable alliance with a grumpy, one-eyed, weight-lifting lady named Henry, who may or may not abandon her along the way, and has plans to see a doctor Henry claims can renew her sight. Add past memories of a sexual dalliance with a drunk preacher in the back lot of the church across from her house; an infamous naked run along a creek bank; failed marriages, including an ex-husband that has a bit of goat ardor; and with a shoe full of money; Jane and Henry hit the road. They meet up with modern slavers, panty snatchers, disabled thieves with a sense of grandeur, a country singer named Cheryl who is on the downhill slide, and a quest for the world’s greatest toaster that can toast four slices of bread all at once, or in sequence, and has a clock on it. It’s one incredible quest consisting of rides in cow trailers, a stolen car, and a convertible, a pirate outfit for children, and what will become a unique friendship.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Jane has lost her job at the laundry due to a ketchup package she forgot to remove from an expensive item, and her prospects look dim. To top off matters, her younger sister, who lives up north, and who Jane has problems with, is getting married and has mailed her an invitation that Jane believes was sent due to her sister not expecting her to be able to come.

A long bout of sibling rivalry makes Jane all the more determined to go, even if her car has gone to hell. To make the journey, Jane forms an uncomfortable alliance with a grumpy, one-eyed, weight-lifting lady named Henry, who may or may not abandon her along the way, and has plans to see a doctor Henry claims can renew her sight. Add past memories of a sexual dalliance with a drunk preacher in the back lot of the church across from her house; an infamous naked run along a creek bank; failed marriages, including an ex-husband that has a bit of goat ardor; and with a shoe full of money; Jane and Henry hit the road. They meet up with modern slavers, panty snatchers, disabled thieves with a sense of grandeur, a country singer named Cheryl who is on the downhill slide, and a quest for the world’s greatest toaster that can toast four slices of bread all at once, or in sequence, and has a clock on it. It’s one incredible quest consisting of rides in cow trailers, a stolen car, and a convertible, a pirate outfit for children, and what will become a unique friendship.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Outrageous wit, memorably quirky characters, and comical situations…Fans of Lansdale’s Hap and Leonard crime novels won’t want to miss this one.” Publishers Weekly
“The escapades of these two outspoken women couldn’t be any more outrageous. Lansdale follows his latest “Hap and Leonard” installment, The Elephant of Surprise, with this over-the-top picaresque novel. The crude humor and quirky characters will appeal to the author’s fans.” Library Journal
“Lansdale reinvents the road-trip novel with a pair that make Thelma and Louise seem like rank amateurs…Laced with steely-eyed observations on the condition of working-class America, profanity-laden dialogue, and the occasional confessional between two women on a mission, Jane Goes North is a doggedly grounded tale with moments of real heart.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Joe R. Lansdale

Author Bio: Joe R. Lansdale

Joe R. Lansdale is the author of nearly four dozen novels, including the Edgar Award–winning The Bottoms. He has received nine Bram Stoker Awards, the American Mystery Award, the British Fantasy Award, a Critics’ Choice Award, and the Grinzane Cavour Prize for Literature, among others. His novella Bubba Ho-Tep was adapted to film by Don Coscarelli.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 4.84
Audience: Adult
Language: English