The Nothing Man by Catherine Ryan Howard audiobook

The Nothing Man

By Catherine Ryan Howard
Read by Alana Kerr Collins  and John Keating

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing 9781538519738
9.95 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781538517871

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781538517888

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781538517857

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781538517864

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • $24.99

    ISBN: 9781538519738

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • $36.99
    Available on 03/01/2022

    ISBN: 9798200724437

  • $9.99

    ISBN: 9781665087971

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

At the age of twelve, Eve Black was the only member of her family to survive an encounter with serial attacker the Nothing Man. Now an adult, she is obsessed with identifying the man who destroyed her life. Supermarket security guard Jim Doyle has just started reading The Nothing Man—the true-crime memoir Eve has written about her efforts to track down her family’s killer. As he turns each page, his rage grows. Because Jim’s not just interested in reading about the Nothing Man. He is the Nothing Man. Jim soon begins to realize how dangerously close Eve is getting to the truth. He knows she won’t give up until she finds him. He has no choice but to stop her first …

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Short-listed for the Irish Book Award

Shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger

A Strand Magazine Pick of Top 12 Mystery Novels of 2020

A Crime Reads Pick of Books in the New Wave of Irish Crime Writing

One of Amazon's 10 Highly Anticipated Mysteries and Thrillers of Summer

At the age of twelve, Eve Black was the only member of her family to survive an encounter with serial attacker the Nothing Man. Now an adult, she is obsessed with identifying the man who destroyed her life.

Supermarket security guard Jim Doyle has just started reading The Nothing Man—the true-crime memoir Eve has written about her efforts to track down her family’s killer. As he turns each page, his rage grows. Because Jim’s not just interested in reading about the Nothing Man. He is the Nothing Man.

Jim soon begins to realize how dangerously close Eve is getting to the truth. He knows she won’t give up until she finds him. He has no choice but to stop her first …

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Gripping, beautifully written, and genuinely chilling, The Nothing Man had me from page one. Simply stellar.” Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award–winning author of The Dark Corners of the Night
“Utterly compelling, completely original, The Nothing Man will be the standout novel for 2020. This is a book you won’t forget as Catherine Ryan Howard brings crime writing to a new level.” Sam Blake, bestselling author of Little Bones
“Whip-smart, thrilling, and utterly compelling.” Liz Nugent, bestselling author of Lying in Wait
“The queen of high-concept crime fiction strikes again: this is the first novel I’ve read that really captures the chills and twists of the true crime that obsesses us. Catherine Ryan Howard has always been thrillingly good at what she does, but she’s just getting better and better with every book.” Jane Casey, author of the Maeve Kerrigan novels
“I was truly blown away and couldn’t read it fast enough. I can’t shower it with enough praise. Terrifying, brilliantly plotted, and extremely satisfying.” Jo Spain, bestselling author of With Our Blessing
“A book to steal your waking hours and haunt your sleeping ones. Chilling and brilliant.” Cass Green, award-winning author of In a Cottage in a Wood
“The Nothing Man is the most original and chilling thriller I’ve read in a long time, and is perfect for fans of Serial and The Fall.” Mark Edwards, bestselling author of The House Guest
“Expertly crafted—storytelling at its best.” Patricia Gibney, bestselling author of The Missing Ones
“It might be cliché to say that a strong storytelling tradition runs in Irish genes, but…Cork native and current Dubliner Catherine Ryan Howard would seem to be indicative of this…This juxtaposition of predator and prey—and the underlying question of just who is which—renders the stakes breathtakingly high. It’s a clever, meta construct—and one the author fully, and frankly, embraces…The Nothing Man is clearly influenced by Michelle McNamara’s I’ll Be Gone In The Dark…but don’t be mistaken: it’s still very much a work of fiction, albeit one that’s grounded in the realities of crime, recidivism, and victimization. The Nothing Man himself may be quite ordinary, but Catherine Ryan Howard’s book-within-a-book is anything but.” Strand Magazine
“[A] compulsive thriller…Those familiar with Michelle McNamara’s I’ll Be Gone in the Dark, which inspired Howard, may spot similarities between the Nothing Man and the real-life Golden State Killer, but Howard (nominated for an Edgar for The Liar’s Girl) takes her story in other directions. The Nothing Man is an ingenious nesting doll, revealing surprises in alternating chapters from Eve’s book and those from the killer’s point of view as he reads said book. Howard can paint moving depictions of grief and survivor’s guilt while terrifying readers and making them triple-check the locks on their doors. This isn’t nothing; it’s the author’s best work yet.” Shelf Awareness (starred review)
“Fiendishly clever…Howard uses serial killer tropes in original and surprising ways in this tour de force.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“This is probably one of the best books I ever read…I absolutely loved the book within a book format…The author did a fantastic job, and if you are a fan of Meg Gardiner, which I am, you will love this book.” Seattle Book Review

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Catherine Ryan Howard

Author Bio: Catherine Ryan Howard

Catherine Ryan Howard was born in Cork, Ireland. Her debut thriller, Distress Signals, was an Irish Times and USA Today bestseller and was short-listed for the Crime Writers’ Association John Creasey New Blood Dagger and the Irish Crime Novel of the Year. Her second novel, The Liar’s Girl, was a finalist for the 2019 Edgar Award for Best Novel. Her most recent novel, The Nothing Man, was a #1 bestseller in her native Ireland. She lives in Dublin.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD, Hardcover, Large Print Hardcover, Premium MM Paperback
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 9.95
Audience: Adult
Language: English