Scavenger Reef by Laurence Shames audiobook

Scavenger Reef

By Laurence Shames
Read by Richard Ferrone

Recorded Books, Inc. 9780671864934

The Key West Capers Series

9.31 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781456125349

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

On best-seller lists all over the country with his witty cynicism and delightfully dark humor, Laurence Shames writes thrillers that his fans endearingly classify as great "Florida noir." In the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen, he gives character to the inhabitants of Florida's steamy underbelly. Artist Augie Silver's friends are ostensibly grief-stricken when he drowns in a shipwreck off Scavenger Reef, but most of them are nervous because his body wasn't found. They have too much to gain by his death. Since his demise, the price of his art is skyrocketing. If Augie isn't dead, he soon will be, if his money-hungry "friends" get their way. Listeners will delight in Richard Ferrone's narrative expertise as he perfectly captures the tongue-in-cheek humor, compelling characters, and snappy dialogue that have become the author's trademark. The combination of humor and suspense is irresistible.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

On best-seller lists all over the country with his witty cynicism and delightfully dark humor, Laurence Shames writes thrillers that his fans endearingly classify as great "Florida noir." In the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen, he gives character to the inhabitants of Florida's steamy underbelly. Artist Augie Silver's friends are ostensibly grief-stricken when he drowns in a shipwreck off Scavenger Reef, but most of them are nervous because his body wasn't found. They have too much to gain by his death. Since his demise, the price of his art is skyrocketing. If Augie isn't dead, he soon will be, if his money-hungry "friends" get their way. Listeners will delight in Richard Ferrone's narrative expertise as he perfectly captures the tongue-in-cheek humor, compelling characters, and snappy dialogue that have become the author's trademark. The combination of humor and suspense is irresistible.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Laurence Shames

Author Bio: Laurence Shames

Laurence Shames has been a New York City taxi driver, lounge singer, furniture mover, lifeguard, dishwasher, gym teacher, and shoe salesman. Having failed to distinguish himself in any of those professions, he turned to writing full time in 1976 and has not done an honest day’s work since. He has published twenty books and hundreds of magazine articles and essays. Best known for his critically acclaimed series of Key West novels, he has also authored nonfiction and enjoyed considerable, though largely secret, success as a collaborator and ghostwriter: He has penned four New York Times bestsellers. These have appeared on four different lists, under four different names, none of them his own. This might be a record.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.31
Audience: Adult
Language: English