The New Kid on the Block by Jack Prelutsky audiobook

The New Kid on the Block

By Jack Prelutsky
Read by Jack Prelutsky

Greenwillow Books
0.91 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $8.99

    Special Price $5.84

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780061448973

From beloved and bestselling poet Jack Prelutsky come over 100 hilarious poems about strange creatures and people—from jellyfish stew to a bouncing mouse, to the very unexpected new kid! For fans of Shel Silverstein and Louis Sachar's Wayside School series. Here are poems about things that you may never have thought about before. You'll be introduced to jellyfish stew, a bouncing mouse, a ridiculous dog, and a boneless chicken. You'll learn why you shouldn't argue with a shark, eat a dinosaur, or have an alligator for a pet. You'll meet the world's worst singer and the greatest video game player in history. You'll even find an invitation to a dragon's birthday party.... This playful collection is a wonderful introduction to the pleasures of poetry and word play from a master of the genre, Jack Prelutsky. “It’s the author’s joyous sense of the absurd that propels the reader from page to page.”—Horn Book (starred review)

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An ALA Notable Book

From beloved and bestselling poet Jack Prelutsky come over 100 hilarious poems about strange creatures and people—from jellyfish stew to a bouncing mouse, to the very unexpected new kid! For fans of Shel Silverstein and Louis Sachar's Wayside School series.

Here are poems about things that you may never have thought about before. You'll be introduced to jellyfish stew, a bouncing mouse, a ridiculous dog, and a boneless chicken.

You'll learn why you shouldn't argue with a shark, eat a dinosaur, or have an alligator for a pet. You'll meet the world's worst singer and the greatest video game player in history. You'll even find an invitation to a dragon's birthday party....

This playful collection is a wonderful introduction to the pleasures of poetry and word play from a master of the genre, Jack Prelutsky.

“It’s the author’s joyous sense of the absurd that propels the reader from page to page.”—Horn Book (starred review)

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Quirky, surprising, and always delightful, Prelutsky’s poems make us wish we’d grown up with his books in hand.” Amazon.com, editorial review
“A fine prescription against the blues at anytime of year.” Horn Book

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jack Prelutsky

Author Bio: Jack Prelutsky

Jack Prelutsky was the nation’s first Children’s Poet Laureate. He has filled more than fifty books of verse with his inventive wordplay, including the national bestsellers Scranimals and The New Kid on the Block. He lives in Washington State.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction
Runtime: 0.91
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English