Loser by Jerry Spinelli audiobook

Loser

By Jerry Spinelli
Read by Steve Buscemi

HarperCollins
3.89 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $16.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780061628733

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen. Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip." Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero." With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of the 2004 Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award

A 2002 Publishers Weekly Best Book for Children's Fiction

A 2002 Book Sense Pick

A 2002 Great Lakes Great Reads Pick

From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen.

Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip."

Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."

With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Spinelli understands some aspects of childhood better than anyone since Beverly Cleary,” Washington Post
“What makes the book charming and buoyant is that the reader, like Zinkoff’s parents and his favorite teacher, appreciates the boy’s oblivious joie de vivre and his divine quirks…Spinelli comes through again with a lively, often moving story with humor and heart to spare.” Amazon.com, editorial review
“Steve Buscemi’s performance provides a feeling of familiarity with the Zinkoff family. His low, mellow tones and laid-back reading make for a comfortable listening experience.” AudioFile
“Here’s one loser who will win plenty of hearts.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jerry Spinelli

Author Bio: Jerry Spinelli

Jerry Spinelli discovered his calling in 1957 when his high school football team won a big game. The town celebrated and his fellow students raced through the streets, but Jerry sneaked back home and marked the occasion in his own way. He wrote a poem. Later the town newspaper published it. He has been a writer ever since. Married to Eileen Spinelli, who is also a writer, Jerry was for many years an editor for the Chilton Company. Now a full-time writer, he lives in Phoenixville, Pennsylvania. His immensely popular books include Space Station Seventh Grade, Jason and Marceline, Who Put That Hair in My Toothbrush?, and Maniac Magee, which has won more than fifteen state children’s book awards in addition to the Newbery Medal.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 3.89
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English