Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan audiobook

Sarah, Plain and Tall

By Patricia MacLachlan
Read by Glenn Close

Katherine Tegen Books
1.02 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $8.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780061802157

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay? This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love. Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of the 1986 Newbery Medal

Winner of the 1986 Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction

Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An exquisite, sometimes painfully touching tale.” New York Times
“Glenn Close performs this wonderful tale just as it should be. Her melodious voice, combined with the musical interludes that mark transitions, lends a magical quality to the story. Through this magnificent performance, the listener is easily transported from the prairie house where Anna and Caleb wish for a mother, to Maine, where Sarah writes letters to them by the sea. The regional accents are done well, and the characterizations are true to the author’s intent. This is a moving tale of the simple joys in life. It is hard to imagine there could be a better match between reader and story.” AudioFile
“An affecting tale for children…Gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love.” Amazon.com, editorial review
“Close’s carefully unobtrusive narration showcases MacLachlan’s simple yet poetic words…A beautiful collusion of an excellent story with a perfect narrator, and a treat for all listeners.” School Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 1.02
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English