Finish the Fight! by Veronica Chambers audiobook

Finish the Fight!: The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote

By Veronica Chambers  and  The Staff of The New York Times
Read by Midori Francis , Marisilda Garcia , Alicia Hall Moran , Mela Lee , and Tatiana Carr

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, HMH Audio, HMH Adult Audio 9780358408307
2.89 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $22.99

    Special Price $14.94

    ISBN: 9780358460282

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781664456112

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

New York Times bestseller!  Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds—black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more—who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth anniversary of the historic win for women's rights, it's time to celebrate the names and stories of the women whose stories have yet to be told. Gorgeous portraits accompany biographies of such fierce but forgotten women as Yankton Dakota Sioux writer and advocate Zitkála-Šá, Mary Eliza Church Terrell, who cofounded the National Association of Colored Women (NACW), and Mabel Ping-Hua Lee, who, at just sixteen years old, helped lead the biggest parade in history to promote the cause of suffrage. FINISH THE FIGHT will fit alongside important collections that tell the full story of America's fiercest women. Perfect for fans of GOOD NIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS and BAD GIRLS THROUGHOUT HISTORY.  

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

New York Times bestseller! 

Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds—black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more—who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth anniversary of the historic win for women's rights, it's time to celebrate the names and stories of the women whose stories have yet to be told.

Gorgeous portraits accompany biographies of such fierce but forgotten women as Yankton Dakota Sioux writer and advocate Zitkála-Šá, Mary Eliza Church Terrell, who cofounded the National Association of Colored Women (NACW), and Mabel Ping-Hua Lee, who, at just sixteen years old, helped lead the biggest parade in history to promote the cause of suffrage.

FINISH THE FIGHT will fit alongside important collections that tell the full story of America's fiercest women. Perfect for fans of GOOD NIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS and BAD GIRLS THROUGHOUT HISTORY.
 

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

★ "Timely, moving, and necessary. Kirkus  ★ "This informative book takes a refreshingly inclusive approach to the history of women’s voting rights in the United States...it widens the spotlight, profiling leaders who have represented minorities and describing the particular challenges they have faced as they worked to promote women’s suffrage.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Veronica Chambers

Author Bio: Veronica Chambers

Veronica Chambers is the award-winning author of the critically acclaimed memoir Mama’s Girl and coauthor with Marcus Samuelsson of the New York Times bestseller Yes, Chef. She is also coauthor of Robin Roberts’ bestselling memoir, Everybody’s Got Something. A contributor to several anthologies, including the bestselling Bitch in the House, she has also been a senior editor at the New York Times Magazine, Glamour, and Newsweek. She is a JSK Knight Fellow at Stanford.

Titles by Author

See All

Author Bio: The Staff of The New York Times

Author Bio: The Staff of The New York Times

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Runtime: 2.89
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English