A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians by H. G. Parry audiobook

A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians: A Novel

By H. G. Parry
Read by Andrew Kingston

Redhook

The Shadow Histories: Book 1

20.90 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549101922

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

A sweeping tale of revolution and wonder in a world not quite like our own, A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians is a genre-defying story of magic, war, and the struggle for freedom in the early modern world. It is the Age of Enlightenment -- of new and magical political movements, from the necromancer Robespierre calling for revolution in France, to the weather mage Toussaint L'Ouverture leading the slaves of Haiti in their fight for freedom, to the bold new Prime Minister William Pitt weighing the legalization of magic amongst commoners in Britain and abolition throughout its colonies overseas. But amidst all of the upheaval of the early modern world, there is an unknown force inciting all of human civilization into violent conflict. And it will require the combined efforts of revolutionaries, magicians, and abolitionists to unmask this hidden enemy before the whole world falls to darkness and chaos. For more from H. G. Parry, check out The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A sweeping tale of revolution and wonder in a world not quite like our own, A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians is a genre-defying story of magic, war, and the struggle for freedom in the early modern world.

It is the Age of Enlightenment -- of new and magical political movements, from the necromancer Robespierre calling for revolution in France, to the weather mage Toussaint L'Ouverture leading the slaves of Haiti in their fight for freedom, to the bold new Prime Minister William Pitt weighing the legalization of magic amongst commoners in Britain and abolition throughout its colonies overseas.

But amidst all of the upheaval of the early modern world, there is an unknown force inciting all of human civilization into violent conflict. And it will require the combined efforts of revolutionaries, magicians, and abolitionists to unmask this hidden enemy before the whole world falls to darkness and chaos.

For more from H. G. Parry, check out The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

It's no simple task to wrangle fifteen years of tumult in a few hundred pages, but Parry manages it with a deft hand. Her alternate history puts a human face on the titans of the past, while weaving in supernatural elements that add a whole new dimension. I stayed up well past my bedtime to find out what happens next."—Marie Brennan, author of the Memoirs of Lady Trent series
I absolutely loved it. It held my attention from the beginning and throughout. It's a beautiful tapestry of words, a combination of carefully observed and researched history and a well-thought-out and fascinating system of magic. An absolute delight to read; splendid and fluid, with beautiful and complex use of language. Genevieve Cogman, author of The Invisible Library
A rich, sprawling epic full of history and magic, Declaration is Jonathan Strange with international politics and vampires. I loved it. Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January
A witty, riveting historical fantasy....Parry has a historian's eye for period detail and weaves real figures from history-including Robespierre and Toussaint L'Ouverture-throughout her poetic tale of justice, liberation, and dark magic. This is a knockout. Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Impeccably researched and epically written, this novel is a stellar start to what promises to be a grand new fantasy series. Booklist (starred review)
Fans of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell will be enchanted by this sprawling epic of revolution and dark magic. Locus
“A witty, riveting historical fantasy….Parry has a historian’s eye for period detail…This is a knockout.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“A rich, sprawling epic full of history and magic, Declaration is Jonathan Strange with international politics and vampires. I loved it.” Alix E. Harrow, Hugo Award-winning author
“Andrew Kingston assumes subtle accents for each setting as listeners recognize the major historical figures of these events…Kingston makes the magic seem natural…Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
Impressively intricate; fans of the magic-and-history of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell will be delighted. Alexandra Rowland, author of A Conspiracy of Truths
“[A] sprawling epic of revolution and dark magic.” Locus

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: H. G. Parry

Author Bio: H. G. Parry

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 20.90
Audience: Adult
Language: English