Draxinger by Noble Smith audiobook

Draxinger

By Noble Smith
Read by Elijah Alexander

Noble Smith

The Draxinger Series: Book 1

10.58 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781665036832

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781665036849

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781665036818

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781665036825

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

The charmingly eccentric Otto Draxinger appears to be your typical pipe-smoking Oxford professor, doing his best to preserve his sanity while his beloved former students are being slaughtered at the Western Front. But the American expatriate has diagnosed himself with the newly coined term “schizophrenia.” And he believes the nightmarish waking visions he’s been experiencing are caused by the psychological trauma of the catastrophe that is The Great War. But after a chance encounter on a train with a beautiful and dangerous woman, the witty academic is drawn into a web of espionage and the paranormal. Conscripted by a secret British intelligence agency called The Department of Anti-Mageia, the astonished Draxinger is transported to an isolated castle and immediately put into training for a desperate mission. Here, at the mysterious brigade’s headquarters called The Crypt, Draxinger makes friends with his fellow recruits including the fighter pilot ace Buppy Singh, the wily weapons inventor code named “Fizz,” and the brilliant cryptologist/suffragette known only as Abacus. But Draxinger soon learns that to uncover the appalling truth about his terrifying visions, he will have to come face to face with the German side of his family’s legacy of the Dark Arts. For he has been ordered to fly straight into the heart of enemy territory, and assassinate his murderous brother—an operative for the German emperor Kaiser Wilhelm’s own agency of the occult. From Oxford to Berlin to the skies above No Man’s Land, the reluctant yet always humorous professor-turned-spy must discover how to wield magic for good … in a world gone truly bad. Produced by Aubrey House Publishing Recorded at Deyan Audio, Los Angeles Engineered by Dilara Senbilgen

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The charmingly eccentric Otto Draxinger appears to be your typical pipe-smoking Oxford professor, doing his best to preserve his sanity while his beloved former students are being slaughtered at the Western Front. But the American expatriate has diagnosed himself with the newly coined term “schizophrenia.” And he believes the nightmarish waking visions he’s been experiencing are caused by the psychological trauma of the catastrophe that is The Great War.

But after a chance encounter on a train with a beautiful and dangerous woman, the witty academic is drawn into a web of espionage and the paranormal. Conscripted by a secret British intelligence agency called The Department of Anti-Mageia, the astonished Draxinger is transported to an isolated castle and immediately put into training for a desperate mission.

Here, at the mysterious brigade’s headquarters called The Crypt, Draxinger makes friends with his fellow recruits including the fighter pilot ace Buppy Singh, the wily weapons inventor code named “Fizz,” and the brilliant cryptologist/suffragette known only as Abacus.

But Draxinger soon learns that to uncover the appalling truth about his terrifying visions, he will have to come face to face with the German side of his family’s legacy of the Dark Arts. For he has been ordered to fly straight into the heart of enemy territory, and assassinate his murderous brother—an operative for the German emperor Kaiser Wilhelm’s own agency of the occult.

From Oxford to Berlin to the skies above No Man’s Land, the reluctant yet always humorous professor-turned-spy must discover how to wield magic for good … in a world gone truly bad.

Produced by Aubrey House Publishing
Recorded at Deyan Audio, Los Angeles
Engineered by Dilara Senbilgen

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Fast-paced and darkly comic, Draxinger is a brilliantly heady mix of fantasy, espionage and the paranormal, set in World War I.” Colin Falconer, author of Silk Road and Harem
“An addictive read…With its mythic qualities and mesmerizing voice, this novel will appeal to fans of Tolkien, Gaiman, and Rothfuss. But there is also a solid grounding in the realities of the Great War and the political situation leading up to it that should appeal to history buffs, too.” Historical Novel Society
“An engaging tale of mysterious magic and international espionage that starts with a leap from a burning WWI airplane and gets wilder from there.” Matt Forbeck, author of the Endless Quest series
“Mixing the supernatural with secret agent skullduggery, Draxinger is a gorgeously crafted, action-packed, fantasy thriller mashup set during a mind-bending, alternative occult version of WWI.” Ethan Gilsdorf, author of Fantasy Freaks and Gaming Geeks
“Comparable to Roger Zelazny for his blend of humor, serious comment, and darkness.” Allen Stroud, chair of the British Science Fiction Association
“Draxinger holds you spellbound with hilarious dialogue and exciting action until its final page. But the real achievement is a breakdown of the costs of war and hatred on our souls.” Clay Carmouche, writer of Destiny: The Taken King
“A brilliant and genre-twisting tale of intrigue and Gothic horror.” David Day, author of An Encyclopedia of Tolkien

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Noble Smith

Author Bio: Noble Smith

Noble Smith is the Franchise Narrative Director of Microsoft’s legendary video game series Age of Empires from Xbox Game Studios. He is an award-winning playwright, documentary film executive producer, and author of The Wisdom of the Shire—a book about the philosophy of Tolkien’s Hobbits (translated into eight languages). And the epic historical fiction trilogy Nikias of Plataea (Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin’s Press) set in ancient Greece during the Peloponnesian War.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 10.58
Audience: Adult
Language: English