Strip Tease by Carl Hiaasen audiobook

Strip Tease

By Carl Hiaasen
Read by George Wilson

Recorded Books, Inc. 9780679419815
15.23 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $24.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781456124533

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $49.99

    Special Price $32.49

    ISBN: 9781664426993

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

No matter what you heard or thought about the movie version of Strip Tease, forget it. Film simply can't catch the layers of humor, satire, and imagination that author Carl Hiaasen creates in each of his novels. When a deranged Florida congressman falls for a gorgeous but virtuous stripper, he dedicates himself to pursuing this tasselled princess. Not only is she a real beauty, she's a damsel in distress. The effects of his quest will ripple through the spotlights of the strip joint, the sugar cane fields of south Florida, and some powerful political careers. Fueled by innocent lust and dizzy miscalculations, this story will keep you howling with surprise. George Wilson's colorful narration is the perfect vehicle for Carl Hiaasen's twisted fairy tale.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

A USA Today bestseller

No matter what you heard or thought about the movie version of Strip Tease, forget it. Film simply can't catch the layers of humor, satire, and imagination that author Carl Hiaasen creates in each of his novels. When a deranged Florida congressman falls for a gorgeous but virtuous stripper, he dedicates himself to pursuing this tasselled princess. Not only is she a real beauty, she's a damsel in distress. The effects of his quest will ripple through the spotlights of the strip joint, the sugar cane fields of south Florida, and some powerful political careers. Fueled by innocent lust and dizzy miscalculations, this story will keep you howling with surprise. George Wilson's colorful narration is the perfect vehicle for Carl Hiaasen's twisted fairy tale.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“[A] cross between Dave Barry and Elmore Leonard…Among his freaks and obsessives, his corrupters and corrupted, his brain-dead and his frenetically active, the author has dropped a real honest-to-God human being, an appealing young woman named Erin Grant. Her presence, her history and goals, make the cartoon nastiness around her less cartoony and more nasty than in previous Hiaasen novels.” Donald E. Westlake
“Sardonic, hilarious…a deeply satisfying read…Strip Tease is a bubble of oxygen in the stagnating pond of crime fiction in the 1990s, proof positive, in the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Donald Westlake, that humor is an effective treatment for the cancer of corruption.” Washington Post Book World
“A deadly caper…Hiaasen’s energetic dialogue and warm-hearted humor make the book hard to put down. Inventive, witty, and refreshingly entertaining, Hiaasen scores a hit with this madcap adventure.” Los Angeles Times
“His decidedly best novel…Strip Tease is revealing, titillating, and funny as hell.” Chicago Tribune
“Sharp but never slick humane but never sentimental, Hiaasen is fast emerging as our most nimble satirist.” Newsweek
“Inventive blackmail schemes, grisly murders, power politics, greed, revenge, and sex all figure in Hiaasen’s latest comic crime novel…[a] consistently entertaining, warm-blooded tale.” Publishers Weekly
“Prime Hiaasen, and with a new edge: sexier, more violent, more political, but just as funny.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Carl Hiaasen

Author Bio: Carl Hiaasen

Carl Hiaasen is a successful journalist and novelist. He is a writer and investigative reporter for the Miami Herald, and his work has appeared in Time, Life, Esquire, Playboy, Gourmet, and Sports Illustrated. His earliest novels—Powder Burn, Trap Line, and A Death In China—were cowritten with fellow journalist Bill Montalbano. Since then, he has written books in a variety of genres. His novel Strip Tease was made into a movie in 1996, and his young adult novel Hoot, a Newbery honoree, was made into a movie in May 2006. A number of Hiassen’s works have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list, including Star Island, Chomp, Sick Puppy, and Scat. In addition to being a writer, Hiassen is also a public speaker. He lives in Florida with his family.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 15.23
Audience: Adult
Language: English