Inheritance by Elizabeth Acevedo audiobook

Inheritance: A Visual Poem

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Read by Elizabeth Acevedo

Quill Tree Books, HarperCollins 9780062931948
1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $10.99

    Special Price $7.69

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780063250390

  • Regular Price: $21.99

    Special Price $12.09

    ISBN: 9798200970063

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $41.99

    Special Price $23.09

    ISBN: 9798200970070

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

They tell me to “fix” my hair. And by fix, they mean straighten, they mean whiten; but how do you fix this shipwrecked history of hair? In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpré-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black hair and Afro-Latinidad—the history, pain, pride, and powerful love of that inheritance. Paired with full-color illustrations by artist Andrea Pippins in a format that will appeal to fans of Mahogany L. Browne’s Black Girl Magic or Jason Reynolds’s For Everyone, this poem can now be read in a vibrant package, making it the ideal gift, treasure, or inspiration for readers of any age.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

They tell me to “fix” my hair.

And by fix, they mean straighten, they mean whiten;

but how do you fix this shipwrecked

history of hair?

In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpré-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black hair and Afro-Latinidad—the history, pain, pride, and powerful love of that inheritance.

Paired with full-color illustrations by artist Andrea Pippins in a format that will appeal to fans of Mahogany L. Browne’s Black Girl Magic or Jason Reynolds’s For Everyone, this poem can now be read in a vibrant package, making it the ideal gift, treasure, or inspiration for readers of any age.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Elizabeth Acevedo

Author Bio: Elizabeth Acevedo

Elizabeth Acevedo is the daughter of Dominican immigrants. She has written a collection of poetry and novels, including The Poet X, which won the 2018 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Boston Globe/Hornbook Award, and the 2019 Walter Award in the teen category. She holds a BA degree in performing arts from George Washington University and an MFA in creative writing from the University of Maryland.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English