The Last Best Cure by Donna Jackson Nakazawa audiobook

The Last Best Cure: My Quest to Awaken the Healing Parts of My Brain and Get Back My Body, My Joy, and My Life

By Donna Jackson Nakazawa
Read by Karen Saltus

Gildan Media, Recorded Books, Inc. 9781469023953
9.30 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $34.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781469023953

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $42.99

    ISBN: 9781664423343

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

One day Donna Jackson Nakazawa found herself lying on the floor, recovering from climbing the stairs. That's when it hit her: she was managing the symptoms of the autoimmune disorders that had plagued her for a decade, but she had lost her joy. As a science journalist, she was curious to know what mind-body strategies might help her. As a wife and mother, she was determined to get her life back. Over the course of one year, Nakazawa researches and tests a variety of therapies including meditation, yoga, and acupuncture to find out what works. But the discovery of a little-known branch of research known as the Adverse Childhood Experiences Study causes her to have an epiphany about her illness that not only stuns her, but turns her life around. Perfect for readers of Gretchen Rubin's The Happiness Project, Nakazawa shares her unexpected discoveries and amazing improvements, showing listeners how they too can find their own last best cure.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

One day Donna Jackson Nakazawa found herself lying on the floor, recovering from climbing the stairs. That's when it hit her: she was managing the symptoms of the autoimmune disorders that had plagued her for a decade, but she had lost her joy. As a science journalist, she was curious to know what mind-body strategies might help her. As a wife and mother, she was determined to get her life back.

Over the course of one year, Nakazawa researches and tests a variety of therapies including meditation, yoga, and acupuncture to find out what works. But the discovery of a little-known branch of research known as the Adverse Childhood Experiences Study causes her to have an epiphany about her illness that not only stuns her, but turns her life around.

Perfect for readers of Gretchen Rubin's The Happiness Project, Nakazawa shares her unexpected discoveries and amazing improvements, showing listeners how they too can find their own last best cure.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Donna Jackson Nakazawa has written a moving account of her recovery from severe autoimmune disorders and her success with innovative mind/body therapies. It will certainly inspire others suffering from chronic illness to use integrative medicine to activate their innate healing potential.” Andrew Weil, MD, author of Spontaneous Happiness
The Last Best Cure will change lives; it may even save some. For all who travel through the dark and lonely landscape of chronic illness, here is hope and healing supported by solid science and first-hand experience…Donna Jackson Nakazawa is a seasoned, compassionate guide, pointing the way to the light at the end of the tunnel.” Katrina Kenison, author of The Gift of an Ordinary Day
 “As both a science journalist and someone struggling with serious health issues, Donna Jackson Nakazawa offers clarity, heart, and hope for recovery and well-being. Funny, fast-moving, honest, insightful, and always helpful, her story of her journey to wellness brings together mind and body, East and West, solid research and the upper reaches of human potential.” Rick Hanson, PhD, author of Buddha’s Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom
“Grounded in scientific research and presented with great lucidity and warmth, Donna’s story will guide, comfort and inspire you as you journey toward full aliveness and well-being.” Tara Brach, PhD, author of Radical Acceptance and True Refuge

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Donna Jackson Nakazawa

Author Bio: Donna Jackson Nakazawa

Donna Jackson Nakazawa is an award-winning science journalist and public speaker. She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the 2012 AESKU award, presented to those who have made a lifetime contribution to the field of autoimmune disease, and the 2010 National Health Information Award, recognizing the nation’s best magazine articles in health. Nakazawa has appeared on The Today Show, NPR, and ABC News, and her work has been featured in Time, the Washington Post, Glamour, and AARP The Magazine.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Runtime: 9.30
Audience: Adult
Language: English