Code Gray by Farzon A. Nahvi audiobook

Code Gray: Death, Life, and Uncertainty in the ER

By Farzon A Nahvi, MD
Read by Aden Hakimi , with Farzon A. Nahvi

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982160296
6.24 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.99
    or 1 Credit
    Available on 02/21/2023

    ISBN: 9781797144054

  • $34.99
    Available on 02/21/2023

    ISBN: 9781797144078

A powerful, compelling firsthand account of the moral and ethical questions ER doctors face even as they scramble to diagnose patients on the brink of death. Code Gray​ is the riveting story of a seemingly healthy forty-three-year-old woman who arrives in the ER in sudden cardiac arrest. The cause of her condition is unknown, and as the ER team tries desperately to revive her, they cannot seem to find why her heart stopped. Eventually the cause is discovered—too late to save her—and it raises an unexpected ethical concern for Dr. Nahvi and the woman’s husband. With this narrative as background, Dr. Nahvi shares other stories of moral and ethical challenges, among them an elderly woman and her adult daughter who each want to enlist him in a conspiracy to shield the other from knowledge of the mother’s terminal cancer diagnosis. Dr. Nahvi worked in two of New York’s most heavily impacted ER’s in the early days of the Covid-19 pandemic. He describes the frantic exchange of information among the city’s ER doctors as they collectively encountered an illness none of them had ever seen before. Ranging from the Covid outbreak to the perennial glaring inequities in healthcare that it highlighted, Code Gray is a beautifully written, heartfelt memoir that will appeal to readers of Atul Gawande and Siddhartha Mukherjee.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A powerful, compelling firsthand account of the moral and ethical questions ER doctors face even as they scramble to diagnose patients on the brink of death.

Code Gray​ is the riveting story of a seemingly healthy forty-three-year-old woman who arrives in the ER in sudden cardiac arrest. The cause of her condition is unknown, and as the ER team tries desperately to revive her, they cannot seem to find why her heart stopped. Eventually the cause is discovered—too late to save her—and it raises an unexpected ethical concern for Dr. Nahvi and the woman’s husband. With this narrative as background, Dr. Nahvi shares other stories of moral and ethical challenges, among them an elderly woman and her adult daughter who each want to enlist him in a conspiracy to shield the other from knowledge of the mother’s terminal cancer diagnosis.

Dr. Nahvi worked in two of New York’s most heavily impacted ER’s in the early days of the Covid-19 pandemic. He describes the frantic exchange of information among the city’s ER doctors as they collectively encountered an illness none of them had ever seen before.

Ranging from the Covid outbreak to the perennial glaring inequities in healthcare that it highlighted, Code Gray is a beautifully written, heartfelt memoir that will appeal to readers of Atul Gawande and Siddhartha Mukherjee.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Timely and nuanced, Farzon Nahvi’s exploration of health care probes the grayscale of life, from the most human of details to the overarching systemic issues…We are ever more in need of clear-eyed books like Code Gray.” Danielle Ofri, MD, PhD, author of When We Do Harm: A Doctor Confronts Medical Error
“Code Gray takes us to the hard places in health care, where the ‘correct’ treatment choices can be impossible to know. Fortunately, Dr. Nahvi is caring and percipient. He is an amazing guide to the portal separating life and death, sickness and health, and the real world and the hospital—that is, the modern emergency department.” Theresa Brown, author of Healing

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Farzon A. Nahvi

Author Bio: Farzon A. Nahvi

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography & Autobiography
Runtime: 6.24
Audience: Adult
Language: English