Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood audiobook

Oryx and Crake

By Margaret Atwood
Read by Scott Campbell

Random House Audio, Seal Books

The MaddAddam Trilogy: Book 1

10.51 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780739304082

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Seal Books is proud to release the audio version of Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood’s new novel that is being billed as her most terrifying and brave. Oryx and Crake is sure to be an instant bestseller and contemporary classic. Do not miss out on the audio version. Oryx and Crake is an astonishing novel in the tradition of Huxley, Orwell, Bradbury, and her own The Handmaid’s Tale. It is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. With breathtaking command of her material and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects a conceivable future of the world, an outlandish yet wholly believable place left devastated in the wake of ecological and scientific disaster and populated by a cast of characters who will continue to inhabit dreams long after the book is closed. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For those who experience Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

A 2004 Audie Award Finalist

Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award

A 2003 Man Booker Prize Finalist

Shortlisted for the 2004 Orange Prize for Fiction

A 2003 Scotiabank Giller Prize Nominee

Seal Books is proud to release the audio version of Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood’s new novel that is being billed as her most terrifying and brave. Oryx and Crake is sure to be an instant bestseller and contemporary classic. Do not miss out on the audio version.

Oryx and Crake is an astonishing novel in the tradition of Huxley, Orwell, Bradbury, and her own The Handmaid’s Tale. It is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

With breathtaking command of her material and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects a conceivable future of the world, an outlandish yet wholly believable place left devastated in the wake of ecological and scientific disaster and populated by a cast of characters who will continue to inhabit dreams long after the book is closed.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For those who experience Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

[Oryx and Crake is written] with a style and grace that demonstrate again just how masterful a storyteller she is. If one measure of art’s power is its ability to force you to face what you would very much rather not, Oryx and Crake -- the evocative tale of a nightmarish near-future -- is an extraordinary work of art, one that reaffirms Atwood’s place at the apex of Canadian literature. Maclean’s
Rigorous in its chilling insights and riveting in its fast-paced ‘what if’ dramatization, Atwood’s superb novel is as brilliantly provocative as it is profoundly engaging. Booklist (starred review)
A landmark work of speculative fiction, comparable to A Clockwork Orange, Brave New World.… Atwood has surpassed herself. Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Towering and intrepid…Atwood does Orwell one better.” New Yorker
“Set in a future some two generations hence, Oryx and Crake can hold its own against any of the 20th century’s most potent dystopias—Brave New World, 1984, The Space Merchants—with regard to both dramatic impact and fertility of invention, while it leaves such lesser recent contenders as Paul Theroux and Doris Lessing in the dust.” Washington Post
“A compelling futuristic vision…Oryx and Crake carries itself with a refreshing lightness…Its shrewd pacing neatly balances action and exposition…What gives the book a deeper resonance is its humanity.” Newsday
“Atwood has long since established herself as one of the best writers in English today, but Oryx and Crake may well be her best work yet…Brilliant, provocative, sumptuous, and downright terrifying.” Baltimore Sun
“Her shuddering post-apocalyptic vision of the world…summons up echoes of George Orwell, Anthony Burgess, and Aldous Huxley…Oryx and Crake [is] in the forefront of visionary fiction.” Seattle Times
“A book too marvelous to miss.” San Diego Union-Tribune
“A landmark work of speculative fiction, comparable to A Clockwork Orange, Brave New World, and Russian revolutionary Zamyatin’s We. Atwood has surpassed herself.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Margaret Atwood

Author Bio: Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood is the acclaimed author of more than fifty books of fiction, poetry, critical essays, and graphic novels. She is the recipient of dozens of awards, including joint winner of the Booker Prize in 2019, as well as the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade, the Franz Kafka Prize, the PEN Center USA Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Los Angeles Times Innovator’s Award, among many others.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 10.51
Audience: Adult
Language: English