The Villa by Rachel Hawkins audiobook

The Villa: A Novel

By Rachel Hawkins
Read by Julia Whelan , Kimberly M. Wetherell , and Shiromi Arserio

Macmillan Audio 9781250280015
7.97 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Not Available For Sale in us

    ISBN: 9781250878984

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $37.99

    ISBN: 9781250878977

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their thirties, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend. Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce’s girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album––and ends in Pierce’s brutal murder. As Emily digs into the villa’s complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974—that perhaps Pierce’s murder wasn’t just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock ‘n roll gone wrong but that something more sinister might have occurred––and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind. Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge––and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends. Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle––the birthplace of Frankenstein––The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their thirties, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend.

Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce’s girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album––and ends in Pierce’s brutal murder.

As Emily digs into the villa’s complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974—that perhaps Pierce’s murder wasn’t just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock ‘n roll gone wrong but that something more sinister might have occurred––and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind. Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess.

As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge––and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends.

Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle––the birthplace of Frankenstein––The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A Frankenstein-inspired novel that feels both fresh and unique.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Hawkins pokes at the darker aspects of both true crime and self-help, and it works beautifully.” Booklist (starred review)
Slick, twisty, and packed full of pop culture references spanning decades.” Deanna Raybourn, New York Times bestselling author
“The Villa is pitch-perfect, again proving that Hawkins is the reigning queen of suspense.” Heather Gudenkauf, author of The Overnight Guest

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Rachel Hawkins

Author Bio: Rachel Hawkins

Rachel Hawkins is the author of several books, including the New York Times bestsellers The Wife Upstairs and Reckless Girls. as well as multiple books for young readers. Her work has been translated in over a dozen countries. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 7.97
Audience: Adult
Language: English