The Doll People by Ann M. Martin audiobook

The Doll People

By Ann M. Martin and Laura Godwin
Read by Lynn Redgrave

Listening Library, Listening Library (Audio)

The Doll People Series: Book 1

3.76 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $10.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780739371619

The 100-year-old Doll family—beautifully crafted china dolls passed down through four generations of girls in one American family—meet their new neighbors, the Funcrafts, a doll family made completely of plastic and delivered straight from the factory shelves. Annabelle Doll is eight years old—she has been for over a hundred years. Not a lot has happened to her, cooped up in the dollhouse, with the same doll people, day after day, year after year…until the Funcrafts move in. Now Annabelle has a friend. Sure she’s made entirely of plastic and she’s living in the scariest room in the house, but she’s an adventurer, and after a hundred years of boredom, that’s just what Annabelle needs.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2000

Winner of the 2005 Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award for Grades 3-5

Finalist for the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award

The 100-year-old Doll family—beautifully crafted china dolls passed down through four generations of girls in one American family—meet their new neighbors, the Funcrafts, a doll family made completely of plastic and delivered straight from the factory shelves.

Annabelle Doll is eight years old—she has been for over a hundred years. Not a lot has happened to her, cooped up in the dollhouse, with the same doll people, day after day, year after year…until the Funcrafts move in. Now Annabelle has a friend. Sure she’s made entirely of plastic and she’s living in the scariest room in the house, but she’s an adventurer, and after a hundred years of boredom, that’s just what Annabelle needs.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“It is entertaining and satisfying, and likely to hold the attention of young readers, regardless of their interest in dolls.” New York Times Book Review
“Fans of The Borrowers and Stuart Little will love this exciting story of adventure and mystery. The relationship between the two doll families, one antique, one modern, is hilariously, wonderfully drawn…Annabelle is a heroine with integrity and gumption. Ann Martin and Laura Godwin create a witty, intriguing tale.” Amazon.com, editorial review
“Martin and Godwin inventively spin out their own variation on the perennially popular theme of toys who secretly come to life…The authors provide plenty of action and suspense, yet it is their skillfully crafted details about the dolls’ personalities and daily routines that prove most memorable…Doll lovers may well approach their imaginative play with renewed enthusiasm and a sense of wonder after reading this fun-filled adventure.” Publishers Weekly
“Martin and Godwin not only set up a realistic doll world but also provide a credible mystery…The authors add a wickedly funny touch with the introduction of the Funmarts…a brash, breezy family of plastic dolls who can’t believe the Dolls don’t have a microwave. Still, Anabelle and Tiffany Funmart become friends and are soon taking great risks to find out what happened to Aunt Sarah.” Booklist
“Veteran actress Lynn Redgrave’s narration gives the illusion of the story being read by an entire cast. She seamlessly switches between English and American accents, all the while giving each character an easily differentiated personality.” School Library Journal (audio review)
“With skilled narration, Lynn Redgrave does for the recording what illustrator Brian Selznick does for the book. She differentiates the sensibilities of characters from an older age from those of the plastic generation. The distinct tones, understated comments, and refined speech of the older dolls are set off from the no-nonsense, direct speech of the newer ones in this whimsical fantasy.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Ann M. Martin

Author Bio: Ann M. Martin

Ann M. Martin is the bestselling author of the series the Baby-sitters Club, as well as the Main Street series and others. Her other acclaimed novels include A Corner of the Universe, a Newbery Honor Book.

Titles by Author

See All

Author Bio: Laura Godwin

Author Bio: Laura Godwin

Laura Godwin is the author of many popular books for children including Barnyard Prayers and The Flower Girl.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 3.76
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English