Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt audiobook

Tell Us Something True

By Dana Reinhardt
Read by Lincoln Hoppe

Penguin Random House, Listening Library
5.54 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780735209848

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

For fans of Sarah Dessen, Jennifer Smith, E.L. Lockhart, and John Green, this delightful, often comic coming-of-age novel stars the lovable, brokenhearted River, the streets of LA, and an irresistible cast of characters. Seventeen-year-old River doesn’t know what to do with himself when Penny, the girl he adores, breaks up with him. He lives in LA, where nobody walks anywhere, and Penny was his ride; he never bothered getting a license. He’s stuck. He’s desperate. Okay . . . he’s got to learn to drive. But first, he does the unthinkable—he starts walking. He stumbles upon a support group for teens with various addictions. He fakes his way into the meetings, and begins to connect with the other kids, especially an amazing girl. River wants to tell the truth, but he can’t stop lying, and his tangle of deception may unravel before he learns how to handle the most potent drug of all: true love.   Praise for Tell Us Something True   “I promise you’ll fall in love with River Dean, even though he's a faker, a stalker, a non-driver, a bad dancer, a bad friend and a codependent mess. He’s funny and he’s true. His heart is smashed six different ways and he’s trying to mend it with tacos and lies—but isn’t that true of all of us?” —E. Lockhart, New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars   “A heartfelt tale that elevates truth over passion and friends over lovers. Reinhardt keeps it real. Much respect.” —Matthew Quick, author of The Silver Linings Playbook and Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock   “A sharp-witted, hilarious, and addicting novel about being lost and discovering your best self. Highly recommended!” —Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of More Happy Than Not   "Oh, how I love a novel where the hero ties himself up, Houdini style, and dives into his own predicament. Once again Dana Reinhardt has written a charming, compassionate, very clever comedy, and this one reminds us how a big lie can reveal the truth.” —Laura McNeal, author of Dark Water, National Book Award Finalist  Tell Us Something True is hope, it is humanity, it is original, funny, wrenching, real, and intelligently surprising.” Beth Kephart, author of Small Damages, Going Over, and This Is the Story of You “When you start reading a Dana Reinhardt book, it’s like discovering a new friend. By the time you’ve turned the final page it’s like saying goodbye to your best friend, and I can think of nothing better to ask of a writer.” —Markus Zusak, author of The Book Thief

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of Sarah Dessen, Jennifer Smith, E.L. Lockhart, and John Green, this delightful, often comic coming-of-age novel stars the lovable, brokenhearted River, the streets of LA, and an irresistible cast of characters. Seventeen-year-old River doesn’t know what to do with himself when Penny, the girl he adores, breaks up with him. He lives in LA, where nobody walks anywhere, and Penny was his ride; he never bothered getting a license. He’s stuck. He’s desperate. Okay . . . he’s got to learn to drive. But first, he does the unthinkable—he starts walking. He stumbles upon a support group for teens with various addictions. He fakes his way into the meetings, and begins to connect with the other kids, especially an amazing girl. River wants to tell the truth, but he can’t stop lying, and his tangle of deception may unravel before he learns how to handle the most potent drug of all: true love.   Praise for Tell Us Something True   “I promise you’ll fall in love with River Dean, even though he's a faker, a stalker, a non-driver, a bad dancer, a bad friend and a codependent mess. He’s funny and he’s true. His heart is smashed six different ways and he’s trying to mend it with tacos and lies—but isn’t that true of all of us?” —E. Lockhart, New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars   “A heartfelt tale that elevates truth over passion and friends over lovers. Reinhardt keeps it real. Much respect.” —Matthew Quick, author of The Silver Linings Playbook and Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock   “A sharp-witted, hilarious, and addicting novel about being lost and discovering your best self. Highly recommended!” —Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of More Happy Than Not   "Oh, how I love a novel where the hero ties himself up, Houdini style, and dives into his own predicament. Once again Dana Reinhardt has written a charming, compassionate, very clever comedy, and this one reminds us how a big lie can reveal the truth.” —Laura McNeal, author of Dark Water, National Book Award Finalist  Tell Us Something True is hope, it is humanity, it is original, funny, wrenching, real, and intelligently surprising.” Beth Kephart, author of Small Damages, Going Over, and This Is the Story of You “When you start reading a Dana Reinhardt book, it’s like discovering a new friend. By the time you’ve turned the final page it’s like saying goodbye to your best friend, and I can think of nothing better to ask of a writer.” —Markus Zusak, author of The Book Thief

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A heartfelt tale that elevates truth over passion and friends over lovers. Reinhardt keeps it real.” Matthew Quick, New York Times bestselling author
Intelligent and ironic, the narrative resounds with honesty Publishers Weekly starred review
“The book focuses on River’s growing self-awareness…The narrative resounds with honesty even as River himself is quite successful at inventing little white lies.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“River has an authentic, funny, and unpredictable voice…in his need to find connections with others. The unique characteristics of Los Angeles neighborhoods…[and] the culture of group therapy, with its frequent instances of humor and pathos, is aptly captured…Recommended for libraries needing light realistic reads.” School Library Journal
“As [River] explores a new relationship with a girl from the support group and remakes his life, he finds it difficult to balance his lies.” Kirkus Reviews
“Narrator Lincoln Hoppe’s slow pace perfectly expresses the personality of seventeen-year-old River Dean…Hoppe’s unhurried narration emphasizes River’s torpor, a dullness resulting from his emotional pain…Hoppe’s reading becomes more animated as River struggles to develop a fuller view of the world and his own truth. In addition, Hoppe vividly portrays the friends and family who buoy River at difficult moments.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Dana Reinhardt

Author Bio: Dana Reinhardt

Dana Reinhardt is the author of A Brief Chapter in My Impossible Life, Harmless, How to Build a House, The Things a Brother Knows, and The Summer I Learned to Fly, among others.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 5.54
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English