The Tropic of Serpents by Marie Brennan audiobook

The Tropic of Serpents: A Memoir by Lady Trent

By Marie Brennan
Read by Kate Reading

Macmillan Audio

The Natural History of Dragons Series: Book 2

10.66 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781427243911

The thrilling adventure of Lady Trent continues in Marie Brennan's Tropic of Serpents . . . Attentive readers of Lady Trent's earlier memoir, A Natural History of Dragons, are already familiar with how a bookish and determined young woman named Isabella first set out on the historic course that would one day lead her to becoming the world's premier dragon naturalist. Now, in this remarkably candid second volume, Lady Trent looks back at the next stage of her illustrious (and occasionally scandalous) career. Three years after her fateful journeys through the forbidding mountains of Vystrana, Mrs. Camherst defies family and convention to embark on an expedition to the war-torn continent of Eriga, home of such exotic draconian species as the grass-dwelling snakes of the savannah, arboreal tree snakes, and, most elusive of all, the legendary swamp-wyrms of the tropics. The expedition is not an easy one. Accompanied by both an old associate and a runaway heiress, Isabella must brave oppressive heat, merciless fevers, palace intrigues, gossip, and other hazards in order to satisfy her boundless fascination with all things draconian, even if it means venturing deep into the forbidden jungle known as the Green Hell . . . where her courage, resourcefulness, and scientific curiosity will be tested as never before.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of NPR Best Book of the Year, 2014

The thrilling adventure of Lady Trent continues in Marie Brennan's Tropic of Serpents . . .

Attentive readers of Lady Trent's earlier memoir, A Natural History of Dragons, are already familiar with how a bookish and determined young woman named Isabella first set out on the historic course that would one day lead her to becoming the world's premier dragon naturalist. Now, in this remarkably candid second volume, Lady Trent looks back at the next stage of her illustrious (and occasionally scandalous) career.

Three years after her fateful journeys through the forbidding mountains of Vystrana, Mrs. Camherst defies family and convention to embark on an expedition to the war-torn continent of Eriga, home of such exotic draconian species as the grass-dwelling snakes of the savannah, arboreal tree snakes, and, most elusive of all, the legendary swamp-wyrms of the tropics.

The expedition is not an easy one. Accompanied by both an old associate and a runaway heiress, Isabella must brave oppressive heat, merciless fevers, palace intrigues, gossip, and other hazards in order to satisfy her boundless fascination with all things draconian, even if it means venturing deep into the forbidden jungle known as the Green Hell . . . where her courage, resourcefulness, and scientific curiosity will be tested as never before.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Every bit as exciting and engrossing as the first part of Lady Trent’s memoir. Isabella is a narrator readers will sympathize with, and the introduction of Natalie…only makes the story more enjoyable. Brennan’s fictitious world is well-constructed, mixing elements of Victorian Europe with her own original locales.” RT Book Reviews (4½ stars)
Her Ladyship is a determined and canny woman in search of dragons--I wholeheartedly approve! Melanie Rawn, bestselling author of Touchstone, on A Natural History of Dragons
If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book. RT Book Reviews on A Natural History of Dragons
Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity. Publishers Weekly, starred review on A Natural History of Dragons
“This, the second of Isabella's retrospective memoirs, is as uncompromisingly honest and forthright as the first, narrated in Brennan's usual crisp, vivid style, with a heroine at once admirable, formidable and captivating. Reader, lose no time in making Isabella's acquaintance. Kirkus, starred review

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Marie Brennan

Author Bio: Marie Brennan

Marie Brennan habitually pillages her background in anthropology, archaeology, and folklore for fictional purposes. She is the author of the Onyx Court series, the Doppelganger duology of Warrior and Witch, and the urban fantasy Lies and Prophecy, as well as more than thirty short stories. The first book in the Lady Trent Memoirs series, A Natural History of Dragons, was nominated for a World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, and the entire series has been nominated for a Hugo Award. She holds an undergraduate degree in archaeology and folklore from Harvard and is now pursuing a PhD in anthropology and folklore at Indiana University.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 10.66
Audience: Adult
Language: English