Clariel by Garth Nix audiobook

Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

By Garth Nix
Read by Graeme Malcolm

Listening Library (Audio)

The Old Kingdom/Abhorsen Series

11.93 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.00
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780739368312

The long-awaited fourth audiobook in the New York Times bestselling Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix. Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones. Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the King. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the King?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The long-awaited fourth audiobook in the New York Times bestselling Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix.

Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the King. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the King?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“In a prequel to his classic Old Kingdom series, set some six hundred years before the previous novels, Nix introduces Clariel, the seventeen-year-old daughter of a supremely talented goldsmith mother…Between striking characters—from the heroic if not entirely competent young Abhorsen-in-waiting, Belatiel, to the enigmatic, catlike Mogget—and Nix’s brilliantly complex magic system, this superb tale is exactly the book fans of the series have been awaiting.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Nix pens a compelling character in Clariel while his skill in rendering both politics and magic is strong. This excellent work can be enjoyed independently of the other Old Kingdom novels, but will certainly draw readers to those works.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Clariel is a deeply sympathetic character faced with complicated choices, the consequences of which are frighteningly uncertain as she is pulled between the wild Free Magic and the disciplined Charter. A bittersweet story.” Booklist (starred review)
“Nix’s tale provides a complete experience unto itself. But his focus on this strong character whose overriding passion is to go her own way provides a hugely satisfying background to the other Abhorsen books. A suspenseful prequel to the much-loved Abhorsen books, showcasing the independent Clariel.” Shelf Awareness (starred review)
“Selfishness and betrayal provoke inexorable tragedy in this dark prequel to a beloved fantasy trilogy…A thunderstorm of a tale, bitter and brutal but dazzling in its ferocity.” Kirkus Reviews
“Fans will treasure this long-awaited opportunity to return to a much-loved world, built with as much originality and richness as ever.” Horn Book
“Graeme Malcolm isn’t the obvious choice to narrate a fantasy about a teenaged girl, but his sonorous voice complements the seriousness of the main character, Clariel, as she grapples with duty, desire, and a murky moral landscape…Malcolm creates character voices that help listeners follow the story as Clariel becomes involved in a plot to overthrow the king and is tempted by dangerous Free Magic creatures. Malcolm paces his performance to heighten the tension as Clariel’s situation grows more complicated. This prequel will satisfy fans as well as those new to Nix’s Old Kingdom series.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

by Ana 9/13/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Totally immersive experience

At first I wasn't quite sold on this narrator, since I had already listened to Sabriel and Abhorsen, both narrated by Tim Curry -- and Graeme Malcolm has a much more traditional and even tone in his voice. Graeme has moments where his voice is very expressive, but for the most part he is a straightforward narrator.

As the story built I found myself so immersed in it that I did not think about Graeme's voice at all. Clariel's character is frustrating yet totally understandable. Ultimately it seems that she is a product of her environment, a victim of her own genetics, and I couldn't help but admire her bravery.

This story is a really important part of Garth Nix's Abhorsen stories, because it addresses the lure and power of free magic. Any fan of Nix will want to know Clariel's story. It is a pleasure to get to know Moggett better, as well. Actually, this story makes me almost want to revisit the other three books so that I can analyze the characters within the context of this new information.

The genius of Garth Nix's world is the darkness and intensity of it. Coming to understand the dark side makes one appreciate the Charter even more...it's a lesson in the value of restraint, rules and protections from our baser instincts. And we learn that power is actually greater when the wielder is willing to submit to rules and order...and above all to remember kindness and love for others.

Author

Author Bio: Garth Nix

Author Bio: Garth Nix

Garth Nix, born in Melbourne, Australia, is a novelist whose books have won the Aurealis Awards for Best Fantasy Novel, Best Young Adult Novel, and Best Children’s Novel. His books have appeared on the bestseller lists of Publishers Weekly, the Guardian, and the Australian, and his work has been translated in forty languages.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 11.93
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English