Chokehold by David Moody audiobook

Chokehold

By David Moody
Read by Gerard Doyle

Macmillan Audio 9781250229519

The Final War Series: Book 3

9.70 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781250245977

The third book in the new series from Hater author David Moody is perfect for fans of John Maberry and Max Brooks. A series of nuclear strikes has left huge swathes of the country uninhabitable. It’s a level playing field now: both Hater and Unchanged alike have to fight to stay alive. Both have retreated to their camps to regroup, less than twenty miles away from each other. It’s here that the last major battle of the final war will inevitably be fought, but neither side has any idea what’s waiting for them just around the corner. Both armies are ready to fight to the death, each of their leaders hell-bent on victory. Their tactics are uniformly simple: strike first, get the enemy in a chokehold, then strangle the life out of them. Chokehold is a fast-paced and wonderfully dark story about the fight for survival in the face of the impending apocalypse.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The third book in the new series from Hater author David Moody is perfect for fans of John Maberry and Max Brooks.

A series of nuclear strikes has left huge swathes of the country uninhabitable. It’s a level playing field now: both Hater and Unchanged alike have to fight to stay alive. Both have retreated to their camps to regroup, less than twenty miles away from each other.

It’s here that the last major battle of the final war will inevitably be fought, but neither side has any idea what’s waiting for them just around the corner.

Both armies are ready to fight to the death, each of their leaders hell-bent on victory. Their tactics are uniformly simple: strike first, get the enemy in a chokehold, then strangle the life out of them.

Chokehold is a fast-paced and wonderfully dark story about the fight for survival in the face of the impending apocalypse.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

David Moody has a knack for making me feel like a fly on the wall, right there amongst the action but not noticed by the players. 2 Book Lovers Reviews blog, five stars
Fear stems from isolation and rumor, only to be reinforced by quick and brutal violence. This is gut-wrenchingly realistic survival horror. Horror Underground blog
This gloomy psychological horror thriller contains a surprising twist of dystopia, a promising note for the series that it launches. Library Journal"Think of a mashup of George Romero and Agatha Christie, and you might have an idea of what awaits you.
The novel rips you out of your safe and sung world and thrusts you into an environment where anyone can turn on you in the blink of an eye. It’s hard-hitting, head-poundingly tense, and drenched from head to toe in blood-splattered cruelty. DLS Reviews blog
Moody truly excels at wicked pacing and sharp dialogue, and One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning is no exception. Ghastly Grinning blog
A gripping, visceral read, glistening with gore and studded with extreme brutality and with a relentlessly downbeat tone which will please lovers of hard-edged apocalyptic fiction. We await the arrival of book two in the series with considerable interest. Starburst
One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning is an insightful, rewarding look at physical and social isolation, trust and reaction to adversity when the flight part of "fight or flight" is taken away. It's clever, convincing fiction, claustrophobic fiction. SFBook Reviews
Moody really knows how to write creeping, claustrophobic terror, effectively sneaking up on his readers and, finally, scaring the life out of them. Top-drawer horror. Booklist, starred review
A bloody fun ride... Another wetwork nightmare that should delight fans of Haters and intrigue writers who wallow in the genre. Kirkus Reviews
Chokehold is just as the name suggests: a story that viciously grabs ahold of you and will not let go, no matter how much you struggle. It is cutthroat, relentless, and—trust me when I say this—shockingly inspiring. Geeks of Doom
Fans of exceedingly bleak survival horror will be satisfied. Publishers Weekly
An engaging story...Unique and compelling. Booklist
Moody has once again hefted his barbed wire baseball bat and knocked it out of the post-apocalyptic park, comfortably maintaining his reign as the Babe Ruth of British horror. This Is Horror
Moody’s suspenseful second Final War horror novel, continuing the second series set in the bleak and anger-filled Hater world, is a gripping take on the zombie apocalypse.... Fans of zombie thrillers will not be disappointed. Publishers Weekly
Moody has once again delivered a great post-apocalyptic story, maintaining his position at the summit of British horror... This is Horror blog
Great characters, great story, nobody does the apocalypse like David Moody. Craig DiLouie, author of One of Us
"David Moody is one kick-ass writer....An enjoyable, hellacious ride into a blood-splattered finale that doesn't disappoint. Scream Magazine

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: David Moody

Author Bio: David Moody

David Moody grew up in Birmingham on a diet of horror and pulp science fiction books and movies. He worked for financial institutions before giving up his day job to write about the end of the world for a living. He has written a number of horror novels, including Autumn, which has been downloaded more than half a million times since its publication in 2001. He lives in the United Kingdom with his wife and a houseful of daughters and stepdaughters, which may explain his preoccupation with Armageddon.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Horror
Runtime: 9.70
Audience: Adult
Language: English