City of Flickering Light by Juliette Fay audiobook

City of Flickering Light

By Juliette Fay
Read by Lisa Flanagan

11.55 Hours 04/16/2019 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781982674700

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781982674717

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $27.96

    ISBN: 9781982674687

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $23.96

    ISBN: 9781982674694

Juliette Fay—“one of the best authors of women’s fiction” (Library Journal)—transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring Twenties, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen—perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility. It’s July 1921, “flickers” are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry. At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth—iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating—and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn’t come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life. With her “trademark wit and grace” (Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer’s Daughters), Juliette Fay crafts another radiant and fascinating historical novel as thrilling as the bygone era of Hollywood itself.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Juliette Fay—“one of the best authors of women’s fiction” (Library Journal)—transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring Twenties, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen—perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility.

It’s July 1921, “flickers” are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry.

At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth—iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating—and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn’t come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life.

With her “trademark wit and grace” (Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer’s Daughters), Juliette Fay crafts another radiant and fascinating historical novel as thrilling as the bygone era of Hollywood itself.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“In the end Fay gives us hope and that’s what makes this novel so very special.” M. J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author
“Fay vividly captures the grit and glamour of 1920s Hollywood…A dishy but never salacious tale, chock full of details that will delight readers fascinated with silent films and what goes on behind the scenes.” Publishers Weekly
“Brings to life the wicked glamour of 1920s Tinseltown—and its story of friendship, love, and acceptance melts your heart.” Ann Mah, author of The Lost Vintage

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Juliette Fay

Author Bio: Juliette Fay

Juliette Fay earned her BA from Boston College and her MA from Harvard University. Shelter Me, her first novel, was a 2009 Massachusetts Book Award Book of the Year. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband and four children.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 11.55
Audience: Adult
Language: English