Closer Than You Know by Brad Parks audiobook

Closer Than You Know: A Novel

By Brad Parks
Read by Emily Rankin

Penguin Audio
13.76 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $22.50
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780525527343

Brad Parks delivers a riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew. Disaster is always closer than you know. It was a lesson Melanie Barrick learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she’s survived into adulthood—with a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy named Alex—she thought that turmoil was behind her. Until one Tuesday evening when she goes to pick up Alex from childcare only to discover he’s been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. It’s a terrifying scenario for any parent, but doubly so for Melanie, who knows the unintended horrors of what everyone coldly calls “the system.” Her nightmare grows worse when she arrives home to learn her house has been raided by sheriff’s deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send Melanie to prison for years. The evidence against her is overwhelming, and if Melanie can’t prove her innocence, she’ll lose Alex forever. Meanwhile, assistant commonwealth’s attorney Amy Kaye—who has been assigned Melanie’s case—has her own troubles. She’s been dogged by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women. Including Melanie. Yet now her attacker might be the key to her salvation... or her undoing.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Brad Parks delivers a riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew.

Disaster 
is always closer than you know.

It was a lesson Melanie Barrick learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she’s survived into adulthood—with a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy named Alex—she thought that turmoil was behind her.

Until one Tuesday evening when she goes to pick up Alex from childcare only to discover he’s been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. It’s a terrifying scenario for any parent, but doubly so for Melanie, who knows the unintended horrors of what everyone coldly calls “the system.”
Her nightmare grows worse when she arrives home to learn her house has been raided by sheriff’s deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send Melanie to prison for years. The evidence against her is overwhelming, and if Melanie can’t prove her innocence, she’ll lose Alex forever.

Meanwhile, assistant commonwealth’s attorney Amy Kaye—who has been assigned Melanie’s case—has her own troubles. She’s been dogged by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women.

Including Melanie. Yet now her attacker might be the key to her salvation... or her undoing.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Parks’ legal thriller gets off to a roaring start, plunking us immediately in the middle of things. Booklist
Terrific stuff, and a strong writer’s career continuing to rise. About Books by George Ernsberger
With the tension ratcheted up to 10, you’ll churn through pages like your life depends on it. Filled with more twists and turns than a country back road, you will never see what lies ahead in Say Nothing. After reading Say Nothing, I only had one thought in my head: I have to read everything Parks has written. After this book, I’m going to be a fan for life. Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star
Fast-paced and terrifying, Say Nothing is a roller coaster of fear, deception, jealousy, and terror. Bustle
Brad Parks latest, Say Nothing, says it all—perfectly. Some books, especially stories about children acting nobly, make me mist up. But real tears, enough to require dabbing eyes? That does not happen. Yet as I finished the former Star-Ledger reporter’s latest book, I was crying... [Say Nothing] takes Parks to a new level. The Star-Ledger 
Shamus Award–winner Parks’s excellent domestic thriller credibly portrays a family under severe stress… [readers will] find themselves on pins and needles awaiting the reveals. Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
Terrific book. Truly terrific. Tension throughout and tears at the end. What could be better than that? Sue Grafton
Outstanding—starts with a bang and gets tenser and tenser. Say Nothing shows Parks is a quality writer at the top of his form. Lee Child
A twisting, suspenseful ride that adds a new and original twist to the legal thriller: a judge, cornered. If you haven't discovered Brad Parks yet, Say Nothing is your chance. Smart, propulsive storytelling. William Landay
Grips you in a vice from the very beginning, and shreds your emotions. Terrific, powerful storytelling at its very best. A tour de force. Peter James
Say Nothing is tremendously satisfying, packed with engaging characters and surprising plot twists and a furious build of tension until its gut-wrenching pay-off. Chris Pavone
A pedal-to-the floor thriller! Say Nothing grabs you from the first few paragraphs and never lets go. Writing in sharp, no-nonsense prose, Parks perfectly nails the dynamics of a family under the gun and has conjured a plot (did I mention high-speed?) that leaps straight from today’s headlines. This novel’s a winner! Jeffery Deaver
Say Nothing moves Brad Parks onto the top shelf of thriller writers.  He grabs readers' hearts in the first chapter, and doesn't let go until the last line. Joseph Finder
[Say Nothing] begins by shocking the mind and ends by shattering the heart. The work of an author who continues to raise his sights and refine his immense talent...readers will quickly say ‘yes’ to this spellbinding, disturbing novel. The Richmond Times-Dispatch
[Say Nothing] grips the reader from the get-go and doesn’t let up until the final twist in a story that’s filled with surprises. Associated Press
Strong plotting, memorable characters, and situations that will hit readers where they live make Closer Than You Know a compulsive read. Linwood Barclay
Rolling out a finely constructed story filled with tension and suspense is Parks' stock in trade, further underscored in his newest edge-of-your-seat domestic thriller. Inside Jersey
Closer Than You Know grabs you by the gut in Chapter One and keeps upping the tension through every shocking plot twist. Don’t expect to come up for air until the final, satisfying pages. Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author of The Wife
“Parks (Say Nothing, 2017, etc.) dishes out another irresistible descent into hell. Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Parks has produced a gripping story, masterfully drawn. Oprah.com (Editor’s Pick)
Another winning tale of domestic suspense from the Shamus- and Nero Award–winning author Parks, who knows how to get readers to empathize emotionally with his characters while amping up the tension and suspense from the first page. Library Journal (starred review)
A diverting, exciting read, with an ending you won’t see coming. Booklist
“A mystery is supposed to be a surprise but this one floored me. Parks has been a consistently solid writer but with this book, he entered a new level with even fuller characters and superb plotting. Parks plumbs parents' anguish when their children are kidnapped. NJ.com
The novel’s final pages are exciting, surprising and deeply moving. How moving? Its ending brought me to tears, and, where books are concerned, such moments are rare… [Say Nothing] carries his work to a new level. The Washington Post
Parks dispenses plot twists with a poisoned eyedropper...The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you'll be shaking with gratitude that it's finally over. Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review
Parks does a fantastic job conveying every parent’s worst fear while also showcasing the marital conflict and mistrust that erupts in the midst of a crisis. The complications and twists build to an unexpected climax that is both perfect and gut-wrenching...Fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner will love this thriller. Don’t stay silent, tell everyone. Library Journal, Starred Review
[A] real gem...  Closer Than You Know [is] full of what makes a great novel great. Brilliant characters, as well as a plot line that will rattle your nerves with every page. Fredricksburg Free Lance-Star“[Closer Than You Know] beautifully levels the tension higher towards its climax and will keep readers on the edge of their seats trying to find out whodunit and devouring every word.
“From the author of the incredible Say Nothing, this new title is so riveting that it pulls you even deeper into the thrilling imagination and amazing writing of the talented Brad Parks...a tale that at times makes the blood run cold. Brad Parks is a master at creating frightening, emotionally-overcharged stories that take your breath away. Suspense Magazine
**A Kirkus Best Book of 2018**

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Brad Parks

Author Bio: Brad Parks

Brad Parks is the first author to win the Shamus Award, Nero Award, and Leftie Award for Best American Mystery for his debut novel, Faces of the Gone. He is a former reporter for the Washington Post and the Newark Star-Ledger.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 13.76
Audience: Adult
Language: English