Dark Jenny by Alex Bledsoe audiobook

Dark Jenny

By Alex Bledsoe
Read by Stefan Rudnicki

Blackstone Publishing

The Eddie LaCrosse Novels: Book 3

8.77 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781470801557

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482134858

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441782489

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441782496

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Alex Bledsoe's fantasy novels have earned rave reviews for their ingenious blend of classic fantasy and hard-boiled detective fiction. Now Bledsoe returns with another tale of intrigue and murder. Freelance sword jockey Eddie LaCrosse is in the wrong place at the wrong time while conducting an undercover investigation on the island kingdom of Grand Bruan. When a poisoned apple kills a member of the queen's personal guard, Eddie becomes the prime suspect in the murder. He must do some fast talking to keep his head attached to his shoulders. While trying to clear his name and find the real killer, Eddie becomes embroiled in a nasty political scandal. Someone is trying to ruin Queen Jennifer and doesn't care who is killed along the way. The more Eddie digs, the more twisted the lies become, until Eddie finds himself caught between two opposing armies. The fate of the entire kingdom lies in his hands. Murder, betrayal, and magic—just another day on the job for Eddie LaCrosse.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

  Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award

Alex Bledsoe's fantasy novels have earned rave reviews for their ingenious blend of classic fantasy and hard-boiled detective fiction. Now Bledsoe returns with another tale of intrigue and murder.

Freelance sword jockey Eddie LaCrosse is in the wrong place at the wrong time while conducting an undercover investigation on the island kingdom of Grand Bruan. When a poisoned apple kills a member of the queen's personal guard, Eddie becomes the prime suspect in the murder. He must do some fast talking to keep his head attached to his shoulders. While trying to clear his name and find the real killer, Eddie becomes embroiled in a nasty political scandal. Someone is trying to ruin Queen Jennifer and doesn't care who is killed along the way.

The more Eddie digs, the more twisted the lies become, until Eddie finds himself caught between two opposing armies. The fate of the entire kingdom lies in his hands.

Murder, betrayal, and magic—just another day on the job for Eddie LaCrosse.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A perfect blend of Arthurian legend and hard-boiled detecting…Bledsoe skillfully combines humor, action, deduction, and emotion to make the material fresh and engaging for fans of both fantasy and noir.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Stefan Rudnicki reads this combination of Arthurian legend and hard-boiled detective novel with panache. He portrays private sword jockey Eddie LaCrosse like a modern swashbuckler and gumshoe, using irony and humor to develop this cynical and unique character…Rudnicki’s carefully controlled pacing heightens the sense of danger in this intriguing story. Rudnicki sounds familiar with Bledsoe’s style of prose, and his performance feels authentic.” AudioFile
“Bledsoe’s clever combination of noir and myth makes for an engaging story…Fans of Bledsoe’s other blends of fantasy and noir will love his latest, and new readers will be able to jump right in.” Booklist (starred review)
“The third Eddie LaCrosse adventure delivers a skewed version of the King Arthur legend that is at once both tongue-in-cheek and strangely powerful. Combining hard-boiled detective fiction with a fantasy universe, this well-crafted novel should appeal to fans of Glen Cook’s Garrett, PI novels.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Alex Bledsoe

Author Bio: Alex Bledsoe

Alex Bledsoe grew up in west Tennessee, an hour north of Graceland. He’s been a reporter, editor, photographer, and door-to-door vacuum-cleaner salesman. He has published more than fifty short stories on topics as diverse as big-game hunters, mermaids, modern witches, Victorian gentlemen, and country musicians. He has two sons and lives in Wisconsin.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 8.77
Audience: Adult
Language: English