Dear Mrs. Bird

By AJ Pearce
Read by Anna Popplewell

9.82 Hours 07/03/2018 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.99

    Special Price $15.99

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781508255192

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781508264453

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is “Doing Her Bit” for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a lady war correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down. Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have “gone too far” with the wrong men, or who can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An Amazon Best Book of the Month

A BookPage Top Pick of the Month

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is “Doing Her Bit” for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a lady war correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have “gone too far” with the wrong men, or who can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Funny, fresh, and touching…A pitch-perfect pleasure. It’s a rare and wonderful thing to read a book that seems to live properly in its era.” Annie Barrows, New York Times bestselling author
“In this funny, uplifting novel set during the London Blitz, first-time author AJ Pearce shows herself to be a master of wartime vernacular speech and period charm…If you enjoyed Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand or Chris Cleave’s Everyone Brave is Forgiven, Dear Mrs. Bird might be your favorite book of the summer.” Amazon.com
"[A] charming tale of doing what’s best despite dark times.” Book Page
“A very English tribute to the women of the home front.” Kirkus Reviews
“Fans of Jojo Moyes will enjoy Pearce’s debut, with its plucky female characters and fresh portrait of women’s lives in wartime Britain.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: AJ Pearce

AJ Pearce grew up in Hampshire, England. She studied at the University of Sussex and Northwestern University. A chance discovery of a 1939 women’s magazine became the inspiration for her first novel, Dear Mrs. Bird. She is now a full-time writer living in the south of England.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 9.82
Audience: Adult
Language: English